We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dormlike Room.”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Oct 5th 2007. Well my wife and I booked this because they let us stay 1 night and that 's all we needed. But according to our timing with booking, it was the last room in Boston at 250.00. It is not worth 250.00 because there is no ammenities, but, it is very centrally located in Boston. It is definitely clean. But the decor has a little to desire. We have stayed in MANY places for less with more ammenities. Barely 10 tv channels. Full size bed. SMALL Room. Most powerful shower we've ever experienced. It was like getting powerwashed. Anyway it is centrally located , basically in the heart of Boston. Right next door there is a busy gay bar. But that's not our scene so we avoided it. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rickeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for Chandler Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

The Chandler was a great getaway from Providence. Manager Kevin and staff were alot of fun. True as you read in most post , the TV reception could be better but who the hell comes to Boston to watch TV. The rooms are fine, and you can't beat the price, and think about all you get. ....Awesome Gay sports bar that's open air (sometimes) but always packed. Your two blocks from the T and in one of the most beautiful areas of Boston. Very safe area. The cafes are wonderful. Just a short walk in Eagle that later in the PM it becomes lot's of fun. Cruisy. I will always stay at The Chandler. .Best Staff, Best Location,Best Bars,Best Price. Best Cafes ect

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank maybeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

I was attending a conference in Boston during a week that unfortunately coincided with the Harvard commencement, so rates at all the big chain hotels were through the roof! The accommodations were modest; my very small room contained two somewhat uncomfortable single beds, a loud window air conditioner, a high-pressure borderline painful shower head, a TV with a very limited channel selection, and generally out-of-date decor. The room was very clean, however, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was free (albeit slow) wi-fi. The inn has a relationship with a very nice local gym that will sell you a day pass for $10. Within a short walk were several nice places to eat, Boston Common, and the T. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for someone traveling on a budget and looking for adequate, practical lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ag12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My boyfriend and I had found a recommendation for the Chandler Inn in a book on Boston. We booked online and were largely pleased with the stay.

If you're looking for something upscale and luxurious, the Chandler Inn is not your place. However, it's in a very nice, picturesque, and quite central location in the city. You may need to do around 10-15 minutes of (brisk) walking to get to Boston Common and other sites of interest, but at least you're already starting out in a good part of the city.

The room itself was average. We were a little unsure of what to make of the burn marks in the comforter, but the sheets and carpet were clean, as well as the bathroom. Also, we had (over the air-conditioner) a rather nice view of the street below.

Essentially, the hotel looks slightly run-down, but for how clean it is, outdated decor isn't a problem. Considering what a clean and centrally-located lodging it is, the price is a great deal! We had no problems with the staff either. All in all, I wouldn't mind staying at the Chandler Inn again, but when I visit the city of Boston next time, I may try to book a little farther in advance so I can get a reasonably-priced room at a step-up. If you find yourself in the same situation we were in when booking (doing it last-minute) and find your options limited, don't be afraid to go with the Chandler Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lalabelle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

I saw nothing at all seedy about his hotel. It is an old building but clean and well maintained. It is in a convenient, historic neighborhood of million dollar apartments right next to downtown. There is a wonderful cafe right around the corner. The room was freshly done over, and the bed was comfortable. The private bathroom was only big enough for one or perhaps two people, but that was fine. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's a good deal.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank SteveBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My boyfriend and I went to Boston to see some friends and stayed over 1 night at the Chandler Inn. I started reading the reviews on TripAdvisor after I already booked the room, so, based on some of the reviews, I was really nervous as to what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised! The lobby is clean and modern. The desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was small but lacked no essentials. Yes, the bathroom was tiny, but it was clean, and who needs a huge bathroom anyways? We had a late night out, and our request for a later check-out time was granted with no problem whatsoever. All in all, a great value for the price! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ebryn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

The room was average, with a decently sized bed and a clean washroom. It is comparable to, e.g., a Travel Lodge or a Holiday Inn; there was nothing terribly special OR objectionable about the hotel because it had functional decor and decent service.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Wanderer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#58 of 84 in Boston
2,185 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
960 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 84 in Boston
3,695 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 84 in Boston
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $149 - $1,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing