We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise in North End” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volle Nolle

Volle Nolle
Ranked #914 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: North End
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in North End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

What an eclectic menu for a tiny restaurant. Incredible flavors in all the evening's dishes: grilled octopus, gazpacho with ground almonds,and tomato toast. Each had wonderful flavors that rivaled similar dishes at renounced Napa Valley restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny, but mighty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

French without the attitude. Delicious food and delightful waitstaff. Yuri was very understanding of my uneducated wine palate with spot on recommendations. I was so happy to enjoy this little touch of Paris in Boston's Little Italy with my beloved husband.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dlizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TASTE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sebastian Martinez partners with Tory and Yuri to create our go-to restaurant in the North End. Every guest we have brought there understands why we keep warming the seats at the window and at the tables for four. If you want to have exquisitely conceived and realized cuisine, this is your place. Each small plate is a composition sparingly constructed bringing out the best in each ingredient. Not to miss is the grilled octopus and anything Sebastian creates with honey. Sourcing is local and international and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. No pretenses, just delicious food. From wine to food, to decor, to the soundtracks, taste abounds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent food , outstanding wait staff, and no crazy wait. Food is different from regular North End Restaurants. Everything was so delicious. For the person who wrote another review, it used to be a lunch place, that was fantastic. They changed to a dinner menu when they got a beer and wine license. The wine Tory suggested was perfect with all the different dishes we tried. The staff is so personable and helpful with everything, it was a pleasure to eat there. Don't be fooled by the lines at the restaurant next door. It has nothing to do with Volle Nolle, it's just a completely different menu. So depending on what you want, Volle Nolle is a very pleasant surprise. I was happy we stopped in. Fantastic and a little different. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alcopp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
397 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“North End treasure - no tourist trap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My daughter who lives on Beacon Hill suggested that we try this restaurant and I am so glad we did. We all love octopus and this restaurant offers it. We glided past a line of people waiting to get into a popular restaurant next door and were instantly greeted by the waitstaff and seated. We explained that we came to have wine and appetizers and the waitstaff reviewed the daily specials with us. Extensive and diverse wine selection. Great paninis on the menu. We opted for a few appetizers one of which was the grilled octopus. It was exceptionally tender, flavorful, and lacked any fishy aroma. Never in my life have I had better. We raved about it so much that the chef came out of the kitchen and explained his process of preparation which included braising in a wine/butter broth and then grilling on a 700 degree grill. I will certainly go back to try other items on the menu. Definitely a undiscovered gem, for people who appreciate finer cuisine in a casual and relaxed environment, where one can enjoy quiet conversation and a wonderfully unrushed meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volle Nolle also viewed

 

Been to Volle Nolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing