We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam LaGrassa's

Sam LaGrassa's
Ranked #1 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wow, the high rated reviews are on point. This was the best sandwich (pastrami on rye) I have ever had. As a native of NYC, this place ranks as the best. They keep the line moving so don't be discouraged if it is crowded. They could charge more and it would still be worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    230
    46
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ordered several sandwiches, based on the recommendations of those who worked there. We enjoyed them very much! Two sandwiches that we tried, the Chipotle Pastrami and Triple Club, were possibly the best sandwiches that we have eaten, anywhere. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chalklit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best deli sandwich ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you like a great deli, this is a must. Try to beat the lunch rush and arrive before noon if possible.
Loved the corned beef pastrami combo & the chicken grilled veggie wrap.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank billybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went to Sam LaGrassa's for lunch on our day trip downtown. Arrived early to avoid the lunch crowd and it was already crowded. The place is very unassuming with limited tables. Basically order your food and bring it yourself to your table. We had the pastrami, Cuban, roast beef and turkey sandwiches with clam chowder soup and cole slaw. The food was delicious and among the best sandwiches I've eaten. Portions are fairly big so it suggest ordering at least one fewer per head count. A must for anyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank German F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, FL
Level Contributor
131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“GREAT Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is our 37th different Diners Drive-ins and Dives visit. We were impressed with how busy it was between 1-2 PM. My wife and I SHARED the Reuben. The sandwich was so large it was plenty for both of us. This was a GREAT sandwich. I also sampled BBQ Pastrami Melt, very good. The locals know how this place works. You can spot an out of towner, like us, right away! Service was fast and friendly.

Seating was hard to find for 4 of us but we did find a table. There is a row of tables all pushed together in the middle so if you go by yourself or with a friend you may find yourself sitting at a table with a bunch of other folks but those doing so seemed to enjoy it.

I would like to try some of the other sandwiches if I ever get back to Boston.

Make sure you find this place if you are ever in Boston.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rmpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam LaGrassa's also viewed

 

Been to Sam LaGrassa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing