We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam LaGrassa's

Sam LaGrassa's
Ranked #2 of 3,113 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sam LaGrassa's was one block from our hotel and on our list of places to eat lunch. As promised, the lines were long the seating crowded. Nevertheless, the line moved quickly and the sandwich (a Reuben) we ordered was large and delicious. Definitely worth the effort. For the two of us, one sandwich was plenty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    200
    40
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great lunch place/deli - large selection of meats/breads/combinations. Possible eat in but appears must do take out. I had their chipotle pastrami yum but would recommend with russian dressing i/o honey mustard - my friend had vegetarian and she said best she ever had with crunchy veggies

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerohandy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
453 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Deli ishous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Real old style Deli typical of what you find in New York. Tried the Rumanian Pastrami which was excellent. The side of coleslaw was great - not too creamy and a good amount of pepper. If you are downtown and want a sandwich for lunch you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ok Boston, you got it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

As a displaced New Yawker visiting Bahston for a few days, I was highly doubtful that anyone could come close to recreating the corned beef / pastrami bliss I experienced in my youth. Well, may not have won the stanley cup this year, they definitely have got the real deli sandwich experience down.

While the sandwich was different from what I am used to (i.e. they put coleslaw and russian dressing right in there, and no mustard to be found?) it was simply fantastic. The meat was cut right in front of you, perfectly seasoned, generous portions and the rye was a "light" rye which didn't get in the way. I also had a cup of the New England chowdah which was also excellent.

The *only* thing which I would change is to stop serving the half-sour pickles. Everyone knows full-sours are the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h1d3m3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pastrami melts in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's not like this place need any more good reviews so I'll keep it short. Amazing sandwiches. Worth any wait but after the lunch rush it goes quick. The pastrami melts in your mouth. Almost got in a fight with the Girlfriend because i wouldn't share. you won't go wrong here for 10 to 11 bucks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RIfratboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam LaGrassa's also viewed

 

Been to Sam LaGrassa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing