We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated excellence!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bova's Bakery

Bova's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 97 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Underrated excellence!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Everyone that comes to Boston thinks Hanover St has the two best bakeries. That rivalry is silly when you have Bovas just down the street. This place is fast moving (no long lines), delicious and authentic italian pastries and great prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JEM782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    136
    25
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After our meal, we stopped at this little bakery and picked up three items. The lobster tail, the tiramisu and a cannoli. We took it back to our hotel room and enjoyed it later in the evening and boy all three were great! Recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped in and bought some Calzones, Arincini(forgive the sp) and Pastry. I am not usually a fan of the Italian cold cut calzones, but these were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we purchased. There was a line but we were waited on swiftly and courteously, I would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmel_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to Europeans taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sorry for this review, but Europeans would't enjoy! It's not worth the calories. But for Americans should be good - a lot of people buying so they should enjoy :) I mean its fresh and nothing bad about it! Try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“went here every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

While staying in the North End, we found out that Bova's is open 24 hours! Oh Joy! We went in every evening and picked out our evening dessert snack and our breakfast treat for the next morning! The lines were so so long at Mikes and Modern that we never even went there. I loved the hard working family members at the counter and I loved the happy, friendly vibe. We tried something different every day. My kids loved picking out what cookies they would have and they sell milk there also. The best memory of Bova's was after our Red Sox game. We came home to our rental and did not want to go in so we walked down to Bova's and it was packed at midnight. We stood out front eating our cookies and milk and I will never forget what a wonderful evening that was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mommisalami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bova's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bova's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing