We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
Review of Bova's Bakery

Bova's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 96 Dessert in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Why this isn't number one confuses me. Located in Boston's North End, a little unassuming shop on the corner of a highly trafficked area. Flat out the best D#%* tiaramasu anywhere,and that includes Italy,( I've had it there to)and comes available in different sizes. They lobster claws are ridiculous, imagine a pastry the size of your head, now smile and take a bite. They provide a tasty assortment of food from pastry to pizza to arancini(rice balls)! Go. There. Now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeRae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    154
    28
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling salesman”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a must stop! Although there is no seating you have to try something from this bakery. It was the best cannoli I have ever had. They have a very large assortment of treats along with many fresh offering of loaves of bread. A must stop!

Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Best Bread Around The Clock”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Bova Bakery has been around for years in the North End of Boston. It is famously known for it's bread. It is crusty, artesian style...It's a fantastic sandwich bread, and soaking up the sauce bread. I've been going there for 35 years, and has never failed...NOT ONCE...It's also quite unique and a destination bakery.....And I'm a picky chef...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not big on atmosphere, big on taste..”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This bakery is off the bearlten path on a corner in the North end. This place was recommended to me by a friend who attended BU. The place wasn't fancy, but the cannoli was marvelous. Like the three little bears-it wasn't too big, not to small or sweet. It was just right.. 2 thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice little bakery”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The florentine cannoli is delicious. It's a must eat that day. Small bakery. A bit confusing when you're in there as it's always packed with people. Small family runs the store. Prices are a tad high, but I suppose 3.50 for a cannoli is better than 7.50 at some restaurants. I liked the filling, very flavorful..typical ricotta blend...the shell was light and crispy. We purchased black and white cookies as well. They were cakey with plenty of frosting. Everyone says try Mikes Pastry or Modern bakery, but a woman on the street said they are good but since they've become so commercialized, they've gone down hill. She recommended Bova's. Good choice, and it's not that far from the other two places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fullnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bova's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bova's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing