We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a fun (and different) dinner”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beehive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,245 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Clarendon
Transit: Back Bay station on the Orange line is 3 blocks from The Beehive on Clarendon Street.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great venue for a fun (and different) dinner”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

What an eclectic venue! A live trombone, drum and bass trio played great music on the lower level, while 1950's burlesque reels played against a brick wall on the second level. After an awful first table (no view of either with constant bursts of cold air from the front door), we requested a switch to a balcony table that had views of both. The hostess was very kind (thank you!!!!) to switch us as we were visiting from out of town for our birthday dinner. Just ask nicely... From then on the experience can only be called awesome. A diverse wine list, interesting calamari (although WAY too salty), and delicious steak and frites made the dinner experience enjoyable. The ambience is really what you get here. Great music, entertaining burlesque, and a very lively crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    232
    80
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice brunch but not sure about the elevator jazz”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went for Sunday brunch and had a great table in the main room with the musicians. Although service was a little slow it was friendly. Good buzzy atmosphere in the restaurant. The drinks and food were fine but the main reason we selected this place was for the jazz. The 2 musicians looked bored and frankly it sounded like what you expect to hear in an elevator. Personally would not rush there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FizzChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We eat at many restaurants and this ranks as one of the best.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife is a gourmet caterer and she is very critical of the food, service, cleanliness and operations of restaurants. But she and I have no complaints about The Beehive. We were extremely happy with our visit here on a saturday night. We were impressed with the meal- from the appetizer to the dessert- it was amazing. Our waitress was attentive, pleasant and friendly. The atmosphere of the dining room with live jazz just makes it all the more enjoyable. We can't wait to go back next time we are in Boston.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GCSL1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Jazz Brunch is Perfect”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a golden gem. Jazz was fantastic and the brunch menu has got to be one of the best ones I have ever seen, especially for brunch cocktails. Food was fresh and music was at a perfect volume to make it fun but laid back. Definitely a must for any brunch fans.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mipagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“great concept”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

It's difficult to be a great music venue, great restaurant, and great bar, but Beehive does a pretty good job at pulling it off. Unfortunately, the stage is blocked off from the bar area downstair due to some load-bearing structures obscuring the view / music, so it's difficult to enjoy the music while sipping on a drink if you are not immediately seated in front of the stage. Considering most jazz clubs in this town only serve alcohol (for instance, Wally's), the food is pretty good! The bartenders that I spoke to are pretty local, so chatting with them about other spots in the neighborhood was very informative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbotaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing