We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with live jazz, eclectic menu”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beehive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,245 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South End
Cross street: Clarendon
Transit: Back Bay station on the Orange line is 3 blocks from The Beehive on Clarendon Street.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun place with live jazz, eclectic menu”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went to dinner with a large business group organized by one of the locals. Broke up in to a few tables on the upstairs floor. Inexpensive cab ride from downtown. The Beehive is in an old large building and you immediately feel like you stepped back in time to some old speakeasy. Big, wide steps downstairs to a large room with a low stage. A good jazz group was playing and where we were upstairs it was like nice background music.

The menu is hard to describe... contemporary with Middle Eastern overtones. The calamari was tasty, with breaded and fried jalapeno peppers as well, the mezze platter was a big platter of who knows what, the short rib appetizer was amazing, the Morrocan cigars filled with lamb I could pass on next time... Wide variety of entree offerings including a few cuts of steak - skirt, filet and ribeye. I had the blackened swordfish tacos which were tasty and came with a great side of black beans and rice but seemingly overpriced at $28. Many of the prices trended on the high side. Tasted the short rib grilled cheese and it was fab and a bargain.

Service was super good... fast, efficient, friendly and helpful. A+

All in, I would definitely recommend a visit here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eyeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    232
    80
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun, hip place. Great music.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to the Beehive on a busy Saturday night. There were two jazz groups playing that night, a loud fun crowd as well. Drinks were good if not a little pricey and we mostly had appetizers that were very decent. The Pirogues are a must have. Desserts were fabulous. We tried the bread pudding made with maple syrup, tasted like French toast but so so good. This is a great place to come with friends, listed to some good music and have a few drinks. I would definitely come back again on a quieter night to try more of the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“French waiter acted too French!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and kids there for Mother's Day. Had a great spot near the music, we love the atmosphere here. The waiter seemed like he had a long day of 'mothers' and didn't give a crap about us. He didn't know there was a kids menu. Then the pasta dish they came with was very small so my 6 yr old wanted another. $8 each for a small plate of buttered pasta, are you kidding me? And yes they charged us twice for his second plate. Thought that was strange when I'm spending $200 for dinner and I made sure his tip reflected that. Otherwise the staff was great and we really enjoyed the food, too bad this crappy French sounding waiter was one of the many topics of discussion at the table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Fun and lively restaurant. A decent jazz band playing and an overall great vibe. The menu has something for everyone and priced moderately. Our waitress (Jaimee) was friendly, knowledgeable, energetic and ranks as one of the best wait staff we've had serve us. I've been here a few times before and always walk away saying that I have to go more often.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm....”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great food and atmosphere... like a shady little French nightclub....try the Poutine and the drinks. Meals eclectic and change often... but good.

Helpful?
Thank bglewandowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing