We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
302
42
7
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
302
42
7
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 353 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2016

I've been to Boston quite a few times now and always find something new to enjoy. The Aisling is one of my favorite finds in quite a while. James and Dympna are wonderful hosts and the bed and breakfast is both beautiful and provides modern amenities, like parking, cable, and wifi. The breakfasts are remarkable, featuring a fresh hot dish, fresh bread and muffins, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, and cereals. Conversations with James and Dympna are a real treat, as they both know a great deal about Boston and are a pleasure to talk to. The area is walkable, has good restaurants, and access to public transit. I can't wait to visit the Aisling again, hopefully for more than a weekend.

Room tip: Every room has its unique charms. I'm looking forward to trying a different room next time.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Damon M, General Manager at Aisling, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. For those looking to book in 2017, we will no longer be offering breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Wonderful breakfasts prepared by Dympna and all guests share the same big table with James at the head. A great way to start the day chatting with fellow guests. James advises what to do and where to go and other guests chip in with ideas. This place is unique. It's a bit further out from the centre than most hotels but not a long trip on public transport. We walked everywhere and never felt threatened walking at night back to Aisling. Our room was next to the guest kitchen with access to kettle, fridge, microwave and cooker.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Damon M, General Manager at Aisling, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2016

Thank you for your great review. Sadly, we will not be offering breakfast in 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

The location of this B&B is excellent with good bus links to downtown or further afield to Harvard. With the suggestion from James, we purchased a pass which made trips even easier. We dined at Toro and Stella, both a short walk away.We stayed 3 nights in Salthill on the second floor which was a pretty room facing the rear lane .Later we returned, prior to our flight home, to stay in Barbara's Room on the same floor, but overlooking the street, One thing that I always enjoy at B&B's is the opportunity to meet other guests at breakfast, and we enjoyed Dympna's meals which were delicious and varied. James was an excellent host offering airport pick ups and returns, which is so helpful when arriving in Boston after sunset. After long days walking , it was also handy to have the opportunity to be able to make a cup of tea in the small downstairs kitchen. There was a good bakery nearby to add a treat. With prior planning, we were able to park our rental car at the rear one night. The small sitting area usually had the door closed, and when the fire was lit one rainy evening, no lamps were on, and switch not found, so one wasn't encouraged to use it. A shame, because it looks very pretty.

We were disappointed with two important aspects of Aisling...very flat hard pillows in Salthill, which affected our sleep, and likely needed to be replaced, and particularly surprising, a lack of proper hygiene in both en suites with accumulated dust and hair in all corners showing a need for a good clean, bath towels that had suspicious stains on them and needed to be retired, and white floor mats that required a shake, or better, a wash. The small 2piece washroom on our floor had a dirty hand towel that was not changed while we were there. Other reviews do not mention this, so we were wondering if housekeeping was experiencing a temporary glitch.

Room tip: Outside steps are steep with a low handrail way off to one side, so tricky when carrying luggage .
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherinelM5403UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Damon M, General Manager at Aisling, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

We are sorry to hear that you found some areas less than satisfactory, we will review the cleaning logs and make the necessary adjustments. We hope it was a glitch as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Our experience at Aisling was fantastic. James gave us excellent resturant reccomendations within walking distance. The neighborhood is perfectly located within walking distance to everything including the freedom triail, feniuel square and the Boston Commons. Our room was perfect for 3 girls on a weekend adventure. The decor was adorable, beds comfortable and a very modern bathroom.

The three of us are gluten and dairy free- we never expected James and Dympna to accommodate our allergies. I was very surprised and thankful that they made us an amazing breakfast including poached apples and pears, gluten free granola and waffles, dairy free yogurt and milk and dairy free/gluten free muffins. We sat and visited with them for an hour and had an awesome time.

I will definitely return to Aisling next time I'm in Boston!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Damon M, General Manager at Aisling, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Thank you for the great review. Dympna and James specialize in customer service, I'm sure they enjoyed the conversations as well. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

We had a lovely stay on the South End of Boston at the Aisling B& B. James picked us up from the airport which was very nice. He gave us pointers as to where to go to dinner nearby. The house is located in a very central location to many great dining locations. Our room was nice, quiet and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and we loved visiting with James, Dympna and the other guests.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 990wendyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Damon M, General Manager at Aisling, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Thank you for the great review, it seems like you had a great time without any complaints. While your 4-star review is good, it actually hurts our rankings, would you consider revising it to 5-stars? In any case, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews