We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So accomadating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aisling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aisling
Ranked #6 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So accomadating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dympna and James made us all so welcome in their home. Fantastic breakfasts, beautiful house with lovely rooms but best of all was the way we were looked after. We could have been staying with Family. So welcoming, so considerate and kind. Best breakfast in the US. Great location too. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAnna1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    41
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
225
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illlinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

When planning to visit Boston, Massachusetts, place Aisling Bed and Breakfast “high” on your list of lodging accommodations.

From making our reservation over the phone almost a year to meeting Dympna in person at the airport a few weeks ago, we knew we chose the right place.

Staying in a restored brownstone was neat. It almost felt like there should have been horses and buggies traveling down E. Concord street. We really oved the quaintness and privacy of our second floor room.

It’s difficult to expand upon the other “high” Trip Advisor ratings of Dympna’s lodging, breakfast and hospitality, but know that she is a top notch host when it comes to greeting her guests,
making them feel at home, serving generous, delicious breakfasts and providing comfortable accommodations.

You’ll also enjoy the historical ambience of her home and having her pull up a chair and share in your breakfast conversations.

Dympna knows Boston and her bed and breakfast is less than a block from a major bus line into downtown Boston, as well as within walking distance of several nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Study Aisling's website, then reserve over the phone with Dympna to choose the room best suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QualityGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Dympna was so sweet - a great hostess. Her home cooked breakfasts were very nice, though I'm a picky eater so a few things weren't exactly up my alley. I would say if you have dietary restrictions or preferences, just let her know ahead of time. But the room was cozy and clean. The small communal kitchen area was handy. And the parking spot was invaluable. She called us after we left to say we had left behind my husband's jacket. She later mailed it to us at her expense. So nice!

Room Tip: The Duleek Opulent room was on the ground floor in the back of the house. It was quiet and near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Dympna and James are originally from Ireland, thus the name of this B&B. Dympna picked us up at the airport -- what a nice greeting! We stayed in the Murmod Sanctuary and the cool colors of the room were very relaxing. The breakfasts were wonderful! One morning quiche and sausages, fruit, muffins, cereal, homemade granola, OJ, coffee, tea, cereal -- just about anything you could want. Another morning wonderful cheese stuffed portabello mushrooms with all the before-mentioned sides, the third morning beautiful crepes and all the extras. Dympna is obviously the mastermind chef and James the laid-back host who kept conversation flowing.

The B&B is on E. Concord, right off Washington. If you walk a block or so to the left on Washington, you come to a few nice restaurants. The Tapas bar is obviously very popular as it was very crowded all the time. Then there was Teranga (spelling might be off), which is a Senegalese restaurant. It was wonderful, and so close! We bought our Charlie card for the bus system at the 7-Eleven, which was across the street.

If you instead go right on Washington, don't miss the public garden across the street, Stella, a wonderful-looking restaurant (we chose to keep walking because it was crowded), and further down, even more restaurants. There is a grocery store down from Stella on the left.

So, all that to say that there are really good places to eat within a nice walking distance -- this B&B is in a more relaxed area -- it was always nice to come home to after a busy day of sight-seeing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catchingup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked our stay at the Aisling having read the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. It was our first trip to Boston and being collected and dropped off at the airport was a great bonus. The location was ideal, just far enough from the hustle and bustle but within easy reach of all that Boston has to offer. Just like other reviewers, we found Dympna and James to be the perfect hosts, helping us with everything from planning our day's sightseeing to checking in online for our flight home. Our room (the Murmod Sanctuary) had everything we needed and the warm welcome and great breakfasts made our stay even more enjoyable. Our only disappointment was that the date of our trip was too early in the season for the guided tour to Cape Cod, but it's good to leave something to do next time. We'd highly recommend the Aisling and we would love to return in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahatmageansai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I just stayed for 2 nights with a friend and my parents. The reception and hospitality was super. Breakfast was served with nice table and silverware and excessive. Homemade granola, fresh fruit, nice bread in stead of the spungy toast you get in the States, and a warm cooked dish. A surprise every day. For my findings the cleaning can be done better, a plug hair from the last guest(s) and a bathroomheating that hasn't been wiped of in weeks.. And the beds are a little squeaky fo a light sleeper as I am.
But overall a good experience, Super location on walking distance and the friendly owners compensate the weaknesses.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inez908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Dympna was lovely and so welcoming. A font of knowledge on Boston and lovely to have someone there at the base while you travelled. Dympona made really lovely breakfasts which set you up for the day. A great quirky house which was very warm and welcoming. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cargeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling

Property: Aisling
Address: 21 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aisling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aisling guest house is located in the Historic Boston neighborhood of the South End. The South End is Boston's most varied and famous dining destination. A brisk walk or ten minute bus ride brings you downtown. Aisling is your gateway to a truly relaxing visit to Boston. Aisling means "Dream" in Gaelic. Your Irish hosts Dympna and James take pride in making you feel at home while still on a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aisling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing