We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will always return”

Haley House Bakery Cafe
Ranked #26 of 150 Bakeries in Boston
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will always return”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

When I learned about the Haley House Bakery Café I was still planning our trip to Boston. As supporting a good cause, it was obviously our first choice for a late (thanks to snowstorm Triton) breakfast.
The sandwiches are delicious, salads are awesome, and by all means have a muffin or a cookie as well! Vegetarians and vegans will also find lots of yummy dishes There is always enough coffee, milk and sugar).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent mission, along with excellent food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The HH cafe is a part of a non profit that teaches disadvantaged youth in the Boston area about health, nutrition and sustainability. The cafe serves a local foods with influences from the various immigrant populations. Its casual, always packed and has great events. A true gem in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyBellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Updated Review - I can't stay enough about this gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've eaten more than 20 meals at the Haley House Bakery Cafe in Roxbury, MA. It is easy to reach by "T" on the Silver Line. By car, there is parking. The food is fabulous!. The Bakery is also a workplace for men and women that face significant barriers to employment. May have been under-employed or unemployed due to challenges they have faced. The food is locally sourced food since Haley House supports the community. My favorite event is the annual souper bowl!!! You'll meet lots of cool people there too. Try it, you will love it!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Terrific Baked Goods, A Genius in the Kitchen Somewhere”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

What else to say but that there is someone in the kitchen who really knows what he or she is doing. The baked goods here are delectable. Worth going out of the way for.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I've been to many Slow Food Boston events at this venue and only wish that it was closer to my very house.”
Reviewed December 14, 2008

I've been to many Slow Food Boston events at this venue and only wish that it was closer to my very house.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haley House Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Haley House Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing