We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mela

Mela
Ranked #497 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South End
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I've only been here once on a Saturday afternoon for their buffet, and it was really good. I typically don't like buffets, but this one was much better than expected. The restaurant itself is pretty small, but it wasn't too busy. Our waitress was very helpful and gave us recommendations on her favorite dishes. Everything was very flavorful. They bring out fresh naan to each table when you sit down to go with all the food. Prices were incredibly reasonable as well, since we left absolutely stuffed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdalke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We went in on a Saturday for lunch. We ordered off the menu not the buffet. It was a good meal. The service was great...no issues. Not overpriced...just delicious!

Helpful?
Thank dom510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Go here for a great Indian! One of the tastiest Indian restaurants I've ever eaten! Ok, the layout isn't fancy or even comfortable, the tables are packed in, so it feels like the people next to you are sitting with you but the food was outstanding. Chicken Tikka Masala was perfect. Service was OK too....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DutchDiverFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Doesn't anyone want this table??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations at this place as I had walked by earlier and it looked nice. When we arrived they had our "table" ready. They must get rid of this table area! It was in a tight corner, in front of an open kitchen spot where the servers pick up the food, get cutlery dishes etc. this was less than three feet in front of the window! We refused the table but had to wait forty five minutes. They should have grabbed a suitable table or not taken the rez. We were out of options as places in the area were full. They were finally able to give that table to two young men while we waited for a table for four. We were finally seated at 9 pm!
The food was super good and server very nice. Food came quickly but too bad the visit was stained. My son the food was so good it was woth the wait but they needed at least to buy us an entree!

Helpful?
1 Thank bonbot062
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“like in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The place was recommended by Indians and it is a nice place, great food, good service, fair price. I have 1 remark: though they know Stella Artois is from Belgium, the chart still mentions Netherlands. For a Belgian this is not done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mela also viewed

 

Been to Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing