We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinent to Hospitals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convinent to Hospitals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel because it is a stones throw from Children's Hospital Boston where my grandaughter was a patient. If it were under different circumstances I would have moved to another hotel, but we needed to be very close. The hotel is older and in need of updating. Water went from freezing cold to scalding several times during each shower. Our mattress was a bit droopy, the spread and blankets had a funky smell and we found baby roaches in the bathroom and on the bedside table during our stay. We were never able to take advantage of the free WiFi as the system would never let us on. A call to the technical services number resulted in being disconnected after being on hold for 8 minutes. I had to sit on the chair in front of the elevator on our floor and log in on the Children's Hopsital WiFi. On the positive side the staff was nice, the room was quiet and dark (the sun was rising at 5:30am during our time there). Since we were there on a medical rate we recieved a free continental breakfast each morning which consisted of a bagel or muffin, juice, coffee and fruit bowl. I would not recommend this hotel unless you absolutely needed to be within a minute of the hospital. There is a very nice Courtyard in Brookline where I moved to that is only a 20 minute walk to the hospital. Their medical rate is $10 more and offers a free cook to order breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingstar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    280
    147
    70
    52
See reviews for
418
156
96
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SouthCoast - MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed at the Best Western Longwood when my son was in the hospital for surgery. I was exhausted by the time I checked in - at almost 10pm. I was greeted with a smile and a friendly/professional young woman.
The room was clean and surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of Boston's 5 hospitals and Fenway.
When it came time to check out, another friendly staff member took care of everything and the concierge wished me a good day on my way out.
I was pleasantly surprised....and would definitely stay again - a good spot when taking in a ball game!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank timetravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

safe walk to Fenway and to the T cheap option for an overnight room was decent enough for a night stay parking reasonable food court next door nothing else close by for entertainment but we got around fine

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstravels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouakchott, Mauritania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Unfortunately i was put in a room with the building's airconditioning plant situated right outside the windows (only a few feet away). This consists of a big box with 4 blower fan units on top. When on full they make a roaring sound, and the windows seemed to do little to stop the sound coming right into the room. If it was constant you could perhaps get used to it, as a constant background sound, but they kept turning on and off during the day and night according to the demands on the system, so I kept being woken up. I asked to be moved, and this was only managed on the fourth night of a four-night stay. Then - bliss!

Apart from that, it is a good clean straightforward business hotel, with a very useful food court downstairs, and a coffee-maker in the room (meaning I could make my own breakfast). Great situation. So when I scored "rooms" low, this is the mark I'm giving it for the room I had on 3 of the 4 nights I was there.

The recommendation below is made with this reservation in mind.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

I made my reservations on line and apparently clicked on the wrong hotel. I have stayed at the Best Western Longwood many times and have always had a great experience. So, when I went to check in and found that I did not have reservations at this hotel I was upset with myself. The Manager on duty, I believe, David Gore is his name, found my reservation at a hotel down the road by calling around. He made sure that I was not charged for the other hotel. We enjoyed the stay at the Longwood Inn and I am extremely impressed by the way the manager went out of his way to help us. I highly recommend this hotel and the service they provide!!! Sandra T.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Great spot for events at Fenway, Museum of Fine Arts, or anywhere in Boston because clean, safe and efficient public transportation is located nearby, Plenty of dining options. Very clean property, I would recommend this address for anyone and everyone because it offers great value in the heart of Boston.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed here because the grandson needed surgery at Boston Children's Hospital. We expected it to be noisy but it was quiet. The kitchenette suites allowed us to have and fix food if we chose not to go out to eat. Since we were there for 8 days, the existenceof a very clean self-serve laundramat ---albeit in on the 25 th floor of an adjacent appartment building---proved welcome to us and others needing to stay for some duration with family. When a light fixture needed service, the engineering department was there within 10 minutes of my call. In short, it did for us exactly what we needed and the help was quite attentive to our needs. Easy location to get elswhere to sight-see as well. I highly recommend it if you need to be in this part of the city .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Property: The Inn at Longwood Medical
Address: 342 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#49 Business Hotel in Boston
#49 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing