We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not really clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not really clean”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located if you have business to do around the Harvard Medical Campus - everything is in walking distance. Yet this is almost the only positive about this hotel - apart from the very friendly front desk staff. The rest of the hotel is not worth mentioning - tired rooms, filthy bathroom with mold on the ceiling, dirty carpets that have not been vacuumed for a while...really nothing to brag about. I stayed in a room with as tiny window out to the food court - for 200USD & tax extremely overpriced. Would definitely choose another hotel next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    290
    150
    70
    54
See reviews for
434
159
102
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cowansville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very clean,friendly staff and good location.What do you need more !!!!10 minures walk to the ''T'',10 minutes walk to Fenway park.We walked at night and felt very secure.Restaurant court right below the hotel,drugstore on site.As for the room,it was very,very clean.And the staff was very helpful and answered our questions with a smile.We will recommand this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Bruce8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was the 3rd time I've stayed at this hotel while attending a medical conference. It has never been great but it is VERY convenient. However this time it was horrible. The duvet cover had an offensive order and the extra blanket in the closet smelled of urine. The staff was not helpful at all and I was even told that they couldn't call a taxi for me because it was Saturday and the taxis don't respond to their request on Saturday. I left out of the hotel and went up the street as instructed to hail a taxi with no luck and eventually walked back to the front of the hotel where two taxis were sitting there just waiting on customers. I will have to try another hotel the next time I come and forfeit the convenience

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a month due to a family emergency at one of the hospitals in Boston. The staff at the front desk were excellent at making sure we had a room during a busy time at the hotel.

It is located very close to Children's hospital and Brigham and Womens hospital.

It's also attached to the Longwood Grill restaurant, whose friendly staff, and good drinks and food were a welcome break after a day in the hospital.

The rooms are clean and quiet!

A great place to stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelChipNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference I was attending nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and retrieved the several parcels I had waiting for me.

The food court on Level 2 is really convenient and you can get a decent meal for a reasonable price.

The room was spacious, well furnished and tastefully designed. Bathroom is clean and toilettries are provided.

I paid a special conference rate and it was certainly value for money!

Room Tip: If you must have a quiet room, request for one away from the Housekeeping store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanyi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed at Best Western Plus Boston twice now when attending a Sox game. It is a very clean hotel and the staff is always very friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to Fenway and the subway. The adjacent parking garage makes it very easy to get in and out of. Next trip to Boston we will definitely be staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

First visit by car. Quite an experience. Landed at Brigham and Women's with time to spare. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. After the hospital we parked in the garage attached to this Inn. Don't know about you but I keep wanting to duck when I drive in these things. Of course if I had something smaller than my Tahoe I probably wouldn't have this issue. Went inside to the front desk where a very nice young woman checked us in and gave us all the pertinent info. The best thing about this hotel is that now that we've parked, we don't have to leave. There's a Food Court within the building as well as a lounge with restaurant. The two queen room was plenty spacious and clean. Beds were very comfy and the shower hot and strong. The towels weren't as soft as they should be. The hotel gives you a better rate if you have a valid appointment at one of Boston's fine hospitals and proof is required. Location, price, clean and comfortable - you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsg1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 83 in Boston
2,064 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Longwood Medical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longwood Medical

Property: The Inn at Longwood Medical
Address: 342 Longwood Ave, Boston, MA 02115-5745
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#42 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#49 Business Hotel in Boston
#49 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Longwood Medical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service hotel is walking distance to key area attractions such as the Fenway Park, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Children's Hospital, Brigham and Women's, Dana Farber, and Harvard Medical School, Boston University, Colleges of the Fenway Northeastern Univeristy and Boston College. Easy access on the Green Line of the MBTA public transportation. Concierge service for Historic Tours of Boston and tickets to major events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Longwood Medical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Boston - The Inn At Longwood Medical Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing