We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a Best Western , but older."”
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The stay was good but a little noisy, ice was a distance away, and the suite itself was a bit cut-up and didn't "flow" well. It has older windows, rugs,doors, etc. I felt a tiny bit uneasy and was glad to have company. However, the drapes and furnishings were very nice.I hate the "new" lighting most seem to be inclined to use now.The desk clerks, am and pm were very professional and arranged a cab pick-up for us as well as an early wake-up call. Overall, it was close to the "T" line and provided a lovely breakfast. I would stay again and appreciated their hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jett54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2010

Dear jett54,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words and apologize for any problems that you had during your stay. The Best Western Terrace Inn is working very hard to improve the overall experience of our guests and appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 564 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I got a good rate. Parking, internet and breakfast are all included in the price. Public transportation is five minutes away (trolley/tram/streetcar). It's about a half hour to downtown Boston. There is not much right near the hotel, a few stores and a couple of restaurants. The Whole Foods is nice except for their right wing political views. If you stay during the warmer part of the year the hotel has a bit of a garden setting which is rare in Boston. The breakfast is not bad. The rooms seem to be recently done over. The bathrooms are quite small, but they do have recessed chrome Kleenex dispensers which you don't see very often now.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Dear SteveBoston,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at our hotel. The Best Western Terrace Inn is trying very hard to learn from all reviews written about the hotel, in order to make things better. Please give us a call if you are in Boston again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Older hotel; somewhat tired amenitites, but clean rooms. If you're a light sleeper, the A/C unit was pretty loud and cycled on/off all night....Great breakfast buffet (usual fare: cereals, breads, waffles, eggs, sausage) included, as was wifi internet access. Fridge and microwave in room. Single-serve coffee pot a pain, but plenty of free coffee in breakfast room...Terrific locale close to Boston; 1-block to T station. Residential neighborhood-always felt safe walking around. Desk staff super helpful and always friendly. Note location on Mt. Hood although has Commonwealth address. Grocery store several blocks; 7-11 1 block. Liquor store 2 blocks. Free on site parking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Dear MaryKop,

Thank you for the kind review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston! We take Trip Advisor reviews seriously and we use them to improve the guest experience at the hotel. I hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I recommend this hotel because it is a beautifully renovated hotel in the generous living area. It's placed only one block from the nearest T (train) station so it's easy to reach every part of Boston. It also has high-speed internet connection.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hydesomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2010

Dear hydesomay,

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. We appreciate your kindness because we are trying ver hard to improve the hotel. We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Pros: Location is not bad, it's a short walk to the green line train which takes you where ever you need to go, either by itself or connecting to another line. Across the street to the right of the hotel is Mt. Hood Rd, walk to the end of the block and cross by the 7-11, the train comes every few minutes so there's no real wait time.
The hotel price was good, and parking on site was free, which is a big plus.
Some cons: There was continental breakfast, which is over by 11am, so if you are on vacation or are out late and want to sleep in, you will miss it. We were in room 503, which overlooked the street (Mt. Hood Rd), if we wanted to leave our curtains open to get some light to make up for the dim room lighting, anyone walking by could see into our room clearly. The curtains also sit right on top of the heater, and since it was cold and we wanted it on, but not at the risk of being a fire hazard that made it annoying, I just tucked up the curtains onto the window sill and luckily they stayed without falling. The room was clean enough, though housekeeping did not come the first day we were there, so after a long day exploring Boston we came back to an uncleaned room, no made bed, and no clean towels for the rest of the night or next morning. There is a fridge in the room which kept our drinks cold enough, and there is a microwave that was working. There is a coffee pot but we only got one pouch of regular coffee and 4 decafs, and the pot only makes one cup at a time. The room was smaller than we had thought, the bathroom is tiny and if you are with a significant other and would like to both use the bathroom when getting ready in the morning, forget that, it's too small. The tv channels were fine and there are movies offered, $13.99 if you want to watch a movie still in theaters, and $11.99 for any other movie (guess that's where they make up for the free parking).
We got a good deal from Hotels.com with every second night half off, and that was the seller for us, plus when we called the hotel they said we were right near everything, we were near the train that takes you to everything, there's nothing really in walking distance but the train, 7-11 and whole foods around the corner. There's no restaurant or bar on the premises but you can take the train if you want to go out, there's also no room service so you need to bring food with you if you want to eat in. The trains stop running at 12:30 so if you plan on a late night out, you'll have to cab it back to the hotel, if you are not driving.
Overall I would recommend spending a little bit more for a nicer hotel, maybe further down commonwealth ave. The hotel is also hidden behind a Gulf station so we almost missed it when we were looking for it and the parking lot is pretty hilly in the back area and not a lot of parking on the side we were on by Mt. Hood Rd. If you're on a budget this is an ok place, I would definitely classify it as 2 stars however, not 3.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsJigsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Dear MrsJigsaw,

Thank you for posting your review of the Best Western Terrace Inn Boston. I apologize for any inconveniences that you had and want to assure you that we are working on improving the guest experience at the hotel. Your thoughts are very important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We call this place the bedbug motel. We stayed there a few times while my son was in college close by. It never was very nice but the parking was free. The last time we stayed there I noticed that the fabric on the side of the box spring had been sliced open. I wondered what was going on... The next day I had bites all over my legs!! I guess they made an attempt to deal with the bedbugs but obviously they should have just thrown out all the furnishings and fumigated. Beware - don't stay at the Bedbug Motel.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jehj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2010

Dear jehj33,

Thank you for the review! With your help, we are able to improve our hotel for future guests. Unfortunately, bed bugs are every hotel's nightrmare and there has been an increase in sightings all over Boston! We are taking every precaution to stop this influx and your comments are very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Due to a snowstorm, the roads were terrible and we needed to get off the highway at 1am. We past a Sheraton but I didn't want to pay $150 or more for quick 8hr stay. The GPS pointed out this Best Western. At 1am, the front desk open and the gentleman at the desk was friendly. On a walk-in, he offered a room with 2 queen beds for $109. I took it. The room was clean. Free parking. Continental breakfast was avail in the morning. That is all I needed. Overall, we got lucky considering how late it was. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersmomcat, Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2010

Dear ornella,

Thank you for the kind review! We appreciate that you have taken the time to write about the hotel on Trip Advisor. It is because of reviews that we are able to improve the hotel and make positive changes. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 84 in Boston
277 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 84 in Boston
3,693 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $152 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing