We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The room was quite large and very clean, breakfast was great and the staff very helpful. Although the hotel is not at the center of Boston it is about 250 meters from the "T" station and the center of boston is about 25 minutes drive.
Compare to the very expensive hotels at the center of Boston, Its price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zvika51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna S, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Zvika51,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Best Western University Hotel. We are glad to hear that your had a positive experience and that you found our staff to be very helpful. The employees are 100% committed to offering our guests the best in service. I'm also happy to hear that you were satisfied with your room as well as our location. The hotel is a great alternative to pricey, downtown Boston hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 572 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was such a disappointing experience. We got a suite that included the kitchen. The kitchen was the main reason why we booked the suite but it was so poorly equipped. No staff members explained to us that we had to ask for plates, etc. When we asked for the plates, they brought us a box of dirty and dusty plates.

The hotel was too expensive for what it was -- the quality was way below my expectation and what their advertisement says.

Definitely not worth the money. I canceled my next stay. Will never return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna S, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear 2012hanoi,

Thank you for taking time to write a candid review of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas so that similar situations can be avoided in the future.

I would like to offer a sincere apology for the issues that you encountered. I have printed this review and shared with all departments of the hotel to ensure that this does not happen again.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Terrible experience! Our A/C unit failed around midnight pumping heat causing our room to register 99 degrees. We shut the unit off but it kept coming back on with heat. Front desk clerk couldn't figure out problem. We were moved to other room around 12:30 but told we needed to be out by 8:00 AM. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep. We attempted to get a refund upon check out but were only successful in getting $50. Our trip was cut short to the area due to the poor lack of sleep and we had to cut our trip short!!!!! Not to mention we hunted and got lost for more than an hour finding the motel as their address on the website is not their actual address. False to entice guests to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna S, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear MelT1971,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your honest opinion helps us discover how we can best meet your travel needs.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay. Our staff is committed to our guests’ happiness and we are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s rest. We have recently upgraded the entire heating system in the hotel and hope that any heating issues have been resolved.

We are also sorry that you had a difficult locating the hotel. Did you use a GPS? Did you call the hotel for assistance? The hotel’s address is correct on the website, as per the US Postal Service. Boston is a city notoriously difficult in which to drive! We apologize for any inconvenience in finding the hotel.

We value every comment we receive from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We enjoyed out stay at the Best Western which we used as a base for a short weekend trip to Boston. Rooms are big, claan with comfortable bed. Air conditioning effective, but also quiet. Buffet breakfast included omlettes, sausages as well as cereals, bagels, etc and was fine. Subway station (Washington Street) is 5 minutes walk, with a 35 minute ride (Green, Boston college line) to centre of Boston. We found that the Green line stations were in walking distance on most locations we visited in Boston (North End, Waterfront, etc)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gezalerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna S, Director of Sales at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear gezalerts,

Thank you so much for writing a review of the Best Western University Hotel Boston. We appreciate your input and value your experience as a guest at the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the large, clean guestroom and continental breakfast. You are right - the proximity of the (green line) subway is very convenient for visiting Boston's attractions. Our employees work very hard to ensure a comfortable stay. I will be sure to share you kind review with all of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was really expensive for what it was.
Rooms were relatively spacious and clean, big bathroom, but that's just about it for positive things to say about this place.
The air/con was terribly noisy and the whole place is far removed from the city centre. In fact, I only booked there as I had to go to Boston at short notice and other, more central places were already fully booked. It takes about 45 minutes to get to the hotel to the city centre, and public transport can be a bit unreliable.
Breakfast, included in room rate, was a rather depressing affair, with tea and coffee served out of polystyrene cups and plastic cutlery which made it impossible to cut up efficiently the bacon or the eggs. Not much variety of food on offer, either.
Overall, it's convenient if you're traveling by car, as you can park it at the hotel and not worry about parking in the city centre, but otherwise it's just basic accommodation.
We paid $195 per night for our room which, frankly, seemed rather too much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ros138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in completing Feedback . Your comments will help us serve you and all our guest better in the future.
We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors
If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.

Anwar Issa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was not bad for a Best Western. The room we had was on the side of the steep hill so the dressers kept opening and the air conditioning plate kept falling off the unit. The beds for some reason were warped and on an angel. When we would sleep it was like the bed was tilted so it felt like you were on a slide. The room was very small for a 2 bed double. Since, we were only there to sleep and travel up town to the main part of Boston it was not bad. The service was good for the most part. When they cleaned our room they never left tissues, toilet paper, or enough towels for the 4 of us staying in the room. Other than that it was not bad. The commute up town is about 40 minutes by street car. The breakfast is great. If we needed to stay there again I would only if I could not find something in town where the action is.

Room Tip: Check the room before you go in for things like beds not being level, air conditioning plate being s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor, Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the frustration and inconvenience that we caused. This is especially saddening because Best Western was founded on the promise of leading industry in a superior customer care and making the experience of staying at our hotels happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us, and we continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your personal endeavors

If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call me.

Best Regards,

Anwar Issa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have stayed here many times as we are parents of a BU student. Recent visit was most disappointing. Toilet stopped up twice during our visit. Once late at night when there was only one staffer on duty, and again during morning "rush hour". Tub also drained very slowly so that you were standing in 5 inches of water by the time you finished your shower. Also no parking spots available when we arrived back from dinner, so we were directed to park on sidewalk. It seemed that many cars in the lot did not have parking authorization ticket from hotel...We were offered an inadequately small discount off our room rate for our troubles. We will be looking for another place to stay on our next visit to Boston.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank optimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 617-566-6260.


Sincerely,

Anwar Issa
General Manager
BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
291 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
552 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#82 of 84 in Boston
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $100 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing