We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Parking, near T”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boston
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Free Parking, near T”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is actually in Brighton, one block from Washington Street T stop. Nothing fancy but very clean room. The staff was very helpful. The continental breakfast was better than average. Good price and free parking. The proximity to the T can get you downtown in 25 to 30 minutes. Only 2 miles from Fenway Park. Hotel is in a residential area and there is not highway traffic. The staff was very accommodating as the first room given to me was on the second floor in the front of the property and it was difficult for me to ambulate into the room as I was recovering from a knee injury. I was then given a room in the back on the first floor was easy room access. This was our fourth stay at this location and we will most likely stay again on our next Boston trip. Can't beat the free parking in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ref48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 617-566-6260.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Anwar Issa
General Manager
BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    201
    123
    57
    35
See reviews for
259
89
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was traveling through Boston, without a hotel reservation, and was lucky enough to get the last room available at this very nice hotel on a Friday night. I called the hotel directly from the Transit (blue line), after arriving late to Logan airport on a hot and humid August Eve. The clerk at the front desk offered a rate that I thought was a bit high. She asked if I was a AAA member or had any other such affiliations. Fortunately I am a Best Western rewards member. As a member I got a VERY reasonable rate for the night. And it was the very last room available. The hotel was sold out !

Upon arrivng at the hotel, I was warmly greeted by a lovely receptionist who already had my room key in hand. I signed in and headed for a great nights sleep. The room was nice and cool with the A/C already running. The room had two double beds (very comfortable), a wide screen HDTV, clock radio, Microwave, minifridge, coffee maker, ironing board....all the creature comforts. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a shower, but no bathtub.

Breakfast was included in my room rate. I took full advantage of the very nice American buffet hot and cold breakfast. My check out time was extended one hour upon request to the curtious staff.

This hotel is in brighton which is not directly in the heart of the city of Boston. However, it has very easy access to the Transit system and is only about 45 minutes to an hour by metro transit to Logan International Airport. The area surrounding the hotel is mostly reidential neighborhoods and retail shopping. I would highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to Boston. MA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Best western University Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Best Western University Hotel.

Thank you for your time to fill a review at Trip Advisor, words cannot express how truly happy we are for the nice feedback you wrote about our hotel. This is especially because Best Western was founded on the promise of leading the industry in superior customer care and making the experience of staying at our hotels happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us. We continue to be committed to provide you and all of our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 617-566-6260 if you have any questions.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotels seems to have gotten a bit of a bum rap. It is in a quiet spot--not by a highway or busy street. Most of the rooms back up to a residential street. Block from the "T." Whole Foods 2 blocks. Perfect spot when visiting BU or BC

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Best western University Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Best Western University Hotel.

Thank you for your time to fill a review at Trip Advisor, words cannot express how truly happy we are for the nice feedback you wrote about our hotel. This is especially because Best Western was founded on the promise of leading the industry in superior customer care and making the experience of staying at our hotels happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us. We continue to be committed to provide you and all of our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 617-566-6260 if you have any questions.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The best part of this hotel is probably its convenient location. Perfect situation if you're in town to visit BC and/or BU. The location itself (in the middle of a residential area behind a gas station) leave a bit to be desired. However, it's a Best Western, not the Ritz. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The room was spacious and clean, but it's overpriced for what it is. Not unpleasant at all, but there are better options in the Boston area that are cheaper and better quality than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltheow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Best western University Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Best Western University Hotel.

Thank you for your time to fill a review at Trip Advisor, words cannot express how truly happy we are for the nice feedback you wrote about our hotel. This is especially because Best Western was founded on the promise of leading the industry in superior customer care and making the experience of staying at our hotels happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us. We continue to be committed to provide you and all of our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 617-566-6260 if you have any questions.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a Best Western, not the Copley Plaza, so the amenities are going to be limited. That said, it's clean, well run, and serves a solid continental breakfast. Rooms are maintained well, the front desk is friendly and attentive, and all you have to do is walk a block and you're on the Green Line of the T. Decent value (they can't help it if they're in a great "captive" location between BC and BU). Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Best Western University Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal the Best Western University Hotel.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This Best Western gets points for location and staff but loses points for no workout facility, dated bathroom and a bland breakfast offering. Location is walking distance to Washington T stop - perfect for visiting BU, BC and other colleges in the area. Used a taxi to the North End for dinner as a treat - also extremely easy with taxi called for us by Frint Desk staff. King bed suite is perfect for the college visitor parent/student combo, with a pullout in the living area. Inn is Motel style - something to remember in cold weather. Parking is free - a big benefit in this part of Boston. Buffet breakfast is OK - standard cereal, yogurt, fruit offerings, with a cooked item as well; eggs in our case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Best western University Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Best Western University Hotel.

Thank you for your time to fill a review at Trip Advisor, words cannot express how truly happy we are for the nice feedback you wrote about our hotel. This is especially because Best Western was founded on the promise of leading the industry in superior customer care and making the experience of staying at our hotels happier and easier for everyone who chooses to stay with us. We continue to be committed to provide you and all of our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 617-566-6260 if you have any questions.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 night along with my wife. Was disappointed with the look and the location of the hotel. The online photos give the impression of a bright open place, but in actual practice found it an unimpressive property right in the midst of residential area. The ambience in the room can definitely be brightened up with a little effort. The hotel is located quite far from the city centre, not a convenient place if you are on a sightseeing visit. Commonwealth Av is a very long road and the University Hotel is almost at the tail end. Staff, however, was courteous and helpful and breakfast quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcommave, General Manager at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in completing our Feedback Form and bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service and hope you are satisfied with the corrective action taken by us. Your comments will help us serve you and all our guest better in the future.
We apologise for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors
If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to call us.

Anwar Issa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Property: Hotel Boston
Address: 1650 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02135-5604 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Hotel-Boston/Brighton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located minutes from downtown Boston offering complimentary continental breakfast, and hi-speed wireless internet. Steps to the Green Line T, our guests have easy access to Boston College, Boston University, Northeastern University, Harvard University and other Boston universities. Save money while visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terrace Hotel Boston
Best Western Boston
Boston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing