We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
308
71
9
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
71
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenmore squaregarden roomnorth towercharles riverfenway parkboston universityvictoria roomno elevatorhard boiled eggsbed and breakfasthouse is beautifula small kitchen areaplace to stayhome away from homehot breakfastminute walkrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 392 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We stayed at the Gryphon House when volunteering for the Head of the Charles. Easy walk to Cambridge (we were at the MIT boathouse) and the Pru. Even with our strange hours, the staff were welcoming, funny and helpful (they gave us breakfast trays since we were leaving each morning at 5 am). Finally, the room was great: large, comfy and with everything we needed. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gretchen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thanks so much, Gretchen! We really appreciate your review and kind comments—thanks for your time and your business!
Everyone enjoyed having you guys and we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

If you want home and comfort as part of your visit to Boston, select the Gryphon House for your stay. The staff is welcoming and inviting, the accommodations are fabulous and clean, the location is great for getting around Boston, and the breakfast has an abundance of offerings.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M5969ILlindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you so much--what a great review! We're so happy you enjoyed your experience at the Gryphon House and we thank you for taking the time to tell others about it! Please come back again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

This place is an absolute gem! I had the pleasure of staying there last week and loved it. I stayed in the Garden room which is well appointed and really comfortable. The whole place is homely and quiet. Teresa and all her staff are delightful and very accommodating. I had a lot of fun chatting with Lo and Wren. The continental breakfast provides a good variety and the place is situated in the most convenient area (Back Bay) being close to Boston University, Fenway Park, a couple of minutes walk to good restaurants and public transport. It is the perfect spot for academics and travellers. I will be back and won't consider staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have easy access to the carpark and require little effort with luggage - i.e, only a couple of steps.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VickiShamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Oh, Vicki, you're the best! It was such fun having you with us--we all looked forward to spending time with you! Thanks for staying with us and thanks so much for your lovely review! We really appreciate it! Looking forward to your return trip already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Gryphon House was a highlight of our trip to Boston. Great location, lovely accommodations, helpful staff. Added an extra night in Victoria (so comfortable and charming) with street view, 3 nights on top floor in River View (spacious and that view of the Charles River is awesome!). Loved them both. No elevator is the only downside I can think of. Would highly recommend and would love to return on another trip.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thanks so much, Renee! It was great having you guys here! It was always a pleasure to see you and I so appreciate all your kind comments. Please come and visit us again soon!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

We had a group of 8, and Teresa was very gracious in showing us all the rooms and amenities. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The parlor was very cozy and inviting, and decor throughout was redone to the original period design. Location near the T and Fenway Park was very convenient. Recommendations for lunch and dinner were very good. Very nice experience.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank daslagx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Wow, thank you so much! You guys were a lot of fun, and it's always a pleasure to have a group who really likes each other and really likes being with us! Thanks for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to pass on your compliments--we really appreciate it! Hope you all will come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews