We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So warm, so friendly, so clean...”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed for two weeks, and truly enjoyed the articulately furnished rooms. The staff is friendly and thorough, but invisible, giving you enough privacy . Breakfast is adequate and tasty. Location is convenient and pleasant adjacent to Boston University campus, view is pretty (overlooking the river) .In short: great value for your money without compromise

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onurmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed in the North Tower for 5 nights. Overall the service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The location is great, near T station. Plenty of really nice restaurants nearby. Somewhere we will stay again on our next trip to Boston, especially as the rooms are big.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at the Gryphon for one night several weeks ago. We were in Boston to help our daughter move into her new apartment and to attend a ceremony at the Medical School she was preparing to attend. The attendant who answered the phone when we called for directions was very polite but not very helpful. The only room that was left was a room in the lower area that was large but somewhat garishly decorated. At night you could hear the footsteps from the guests in the upper level and there was a street lamp outside the window that made it even more difficult to sleep. The mattress on the bed was very firm and uncomfortable. The "breakfast" that was offered consisted primarily of chopped up danishes and various beverages. It was altogether unappetizing. The stay not worth it and if your looking for a bed and breakfast in Boston don't stay here, keep on looking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gweagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed here with my wife for three days over the July 4th weekend, first time in Boston, stayed in North Tower suite (views over the river are excellent), loved the building its decor and history, the staff were superb in their recommendations of where to go and where to eat were 10/10.

To call it a bed and breakfast does not do it justice, our suite was great, the breakfast communal areas are superb, its like stepping back in time when you stay at the Gryphon House, as travellers from the UK we recommend both Boston and the Gryphon House for a stay that will live long in the memory.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Two of us stayed in Sanctuary - a lovely large room with a kitchen area, which we made good use of, and a huge bathroom.

All the staff (who changed daily) were wonderfully helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. We particularly liked the fact that tea, good coffee and fruit juice were freely available. We used the maps (a lot) and the umbrellas too.

It is also an easy place to get around from - a lovely walk to the Fine Arts Museum, and a very swift T journey to the centre. Oh, and good restaurants (particularly recommend the Thai) within a very few minutes walk.

We would definitely stay here again any time we were in Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshiredales14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stayed 6 nights in Boston, and for its location Gryphon house is good value. Very short walk to Kenmore T stop and then about a 10 minute ride to downtown. Great if you are in Boston for a redsox game, as Fenway is just around the corner. We booked Riverview which was at the back of the building, and would have been quite every night if they had not been working on the overpass opposite our room for 3 nights from 11pm to 4am ( not gryphon house fault ). Room was big, with a small kitchen, but no microwave which was slightly odd as they provide cutlery and plates. Buffet breakfast was good, and a nice room to sit and eat it in. Staff friendly and helpful, but reception is not manned between 11pm and 7am ( you are given a number to call in case of emergencys ). Best value in Boston has to be the cost of the 7day pass for the subway and bus, just $15.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsizehomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We loved the place. Very spacious. owners & employees very helpful. When we checked in Theresa took us to our room and explained everything in great detail even how to use the remote to the t.v. You are right in downtown Boston a couple of blocks from Fenway. We never had to move our car from the parking lot we could walk everywhere. We did use the "T" once but only because it was cold. We stayed in the riverview room. The view of all the city lights in the bay window was pretty at night. We never heard any noise and they were working on the freeway right behind the Gryphon house. They had lots of dvds you could use. Breakfast very basic but saved us at least $10 each morning. I used the deep tub each night to soak. there is a heater & nightlight in the bathroom so it was very relaxing. (I will bring a bath pillow next time). My husband used the free wi-fi each day. There is a local delivery service so that you can choose from many resaurants and they will deliver your meals to your room for a small fee.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mguilford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,490 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
2,242 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $149 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing