We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home - All the comfort and great staff too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gryphon House
Ranked #4 of 41 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home away from home - All the comfort and great staff too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Over the years the Gryphon House has been open, I have been a fairly regular visitor with excellent reasons! Great, helpful staff, genuine caring and Owner managed and one of them is often here, her laugh infectious and ringing throughout this stately home. Terrific location, knowledgeable staff that can get you anywhere you want to go in Boston, one of the most wonderful cities on the planet. Come be pampered as I am when I stay here. Why stay in a cold hotel when you can be cosseted in luxury and warmth?

Room Tip: The rear facing river view rooms on the upper floors are best for view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Wow! Thanks, Bill! We all love having you here. You are the perfect example of a great guy, a great guest, and a great friend! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    62
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
158
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3rd Martin Luther King weekend at the Gryphon House. We stayed in Riverview this time. The bed is very comfortable and I haven't felt so relaxed in a long time sipping champagne and soaking in the deep tub. The room was immaculately clean and nicely equipped with champagne flutes, wine glasses and all the necessary amenities. The downstairs parlor is beautiful and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast reading the paper in front of the fireplace. The granola was outstanding! Thank you so much for a wonderful birthday weekend for my husband and I!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
You guys are great! We love sharing your birthdays with you! May you enjoy health & happiness and many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The stay was perfect start to finish (though the weather was not). The location is very handy for MIT in Cambridge as well as being a good Boston location in the heart of the BU campus. We were upgraded to Sanctuary because our reserved room had been recently painted, and the owner didn't want to chance fumes. (There weren't any, as it turned out, but Sanctuary was wonderful). In-room and buffet breakfasts were great. It's a lovely place, beautifully furnished but as always, the real draw is the hospitality of the folks there. We arrived at an ungodly hour and were treated like royalty. Luckily the room was available that early, and Tara, Teresa et al made every effort to make us feel at home. Hotels in Boston are expensive, and this is better than any hotel I've stayed at there in the dozen or so years I've been traveling there.

Room Tip: There was not a pool or fitness center, nor an option to choose "n/a," so I rated both &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
When guests are as great as you guys, it's a pleasure to do everything we can to ensure that you have a good time (even though we can't make the weather cooperate!). Thank you for choosing us and for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again under sunny skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

right location, lovely rooms, fresh and healthy breakfast, delightful staff.....I actually can't think of any way it could have been better.
we were a family of five - we put the 3 kids (19,16 and 14) in The Tower and we stayed in The Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickenbacker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks! We really enjoyed having your family here, and we hope to see you all again on the next trip to Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the Gryphon house for an evening in Boston. This is a very friendly place to stay with great staff. They truly make the stay very enjoyable.

The house is relatively small with a handful of rooms, each with a unique ambiance. We stayed in the Sanctuary room which was quite large with a full kitchenette, a fireplace and two beds (a queen size bed and a single).

The lobby of the house is quite well decorated. It's important to remember that this is an Inn in a very old brownstone. Don't expect brand new options like a chain hotel. If you stay here it's for the unique experience to get away from the chains. To that end it was great.

The only minor quibbles are relatively small and are a result of us being spoiled travelers. The bed was rather uncomfortable and a challenge to get into for shorter people due to tall wooden sides housing the mattress. The overall condition of the room was acceptable albeit a bit confused as to what theme it was going for (roman gothic?).

The cost of the room was in par with the Boston area. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a great location in Kenmore.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, but I do hope you come again and try another room with a different bed setup! That one was custom built from antique wainscoting and mantel pieces, so it's definitely the only one like it!
To answer your question regarding the decor, Sanctuary was designed in the neo-Gothic style. The
Gryphon House was built in 1895, and since we didn't want to do everything in the "traditional" Victorian style (like the parlor and lobby), we chose to explore some of the other styles that were also popular during the turn of the century in the guest rooms. For example, the Tuscany room is Rustic Italian, the Riverview is Arts & Crafts, and Aerie has Art Nouveau & Art Deco flourishes, and so on. Perhaps you'll find one which is perfect for you!
Again, thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us a good review. I certainly hope you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Gryphon house for a number of years visiting my children at Boston University. We have also stayed at other hotels during that period Including the Four Seasons the Commonwealth and a number of chain establishments. The Griffin house provides a quality and comfort level equal to the high-end establishments in a much more cozy setting. The friendly and accommodative staff completes the picture.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorotockeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much! We're so pleased to have your loyalty! It makes our jobs worthwhile to know that folks like you appreciate the ambience of the Gryphon House. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend here to celebrate both our anniversary and her birthday. We live in Saratoga Springs but wanted the eclectic "lite urban" feel of Boston and Cambridge for a change in mid-November.

The Gryphon House has 360 degrees of classic charm, from architecture to furnishings and feel. Upscale without any gaudiness, we felt a homey pampering in every experience we had. After a day walking through the Fenway we looked forward to returning to sit by the fire before going out to dinner.

A fun staff and nice quiet other guests complete the trip.

A definite "keeper" for those who eschew the ordinary!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Wow, back at you! It was great to have you both with us on such an auspicious weekend! :) You guys were wonderful guests. Thank you so much for such an amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Property: Gryphon House
Address: 9 Bay State Road, Boston, MA 02215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gryphon House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing