We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well - located B&B in Boston”
Review of Gryphon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gryphon House
Ranked #5 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Boston visiting our daughter, who lives three blocks away from Gryphon House. We had been looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay nearby and have certainly found it in Gryphon House. The house has been beautifully restored, with period details intact in some of the rooms, and our room - the Riverview Suite - on the third floor, was large and luxurious, with a lovely view over the Charles River. Breakfast was perfect with homemade granola that my husband loved, and my favorite cereal available. Many comfortable touches - umbrellas, DVDs for your room, bowls of fruit in the entry, fireplace in the room. We've already made reservations for a return visit.

Room Tip: Just remember that there is no elevator so if you're on the third or fourth floor for your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amgsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks! We look forward to your return! The granola awaits! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

An elegant retreat that was perfectly located for my trip to Boston. From the time I made my reservation (when the staff member was kind, welcoming, and informative) to when I departed, I felt well-cared for in this beautiful B&B. Like other reviewers, I appreciated the amount of privacy the staff afforded; they inquired as to how I was and to any needs I might have whenever I returned, but there was no intrusive chit-chat--which I appreciated greatly. The breakfast buffet had many cold options (including a fine assortment of pastry, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, fruit, and quite delicious granola). I did not miss the presence of a hot breakfast. Tea, fruit, and biscotti were always available (and I took advantage several time). My room was gorgeous--beautiful Art Deco design. Cozy fireplace, comfortable furnishings, very nice bathroom and kitchen area.
Yes, it is in the city (so I very occasionally heard a passing truck), but that is to be expected. And it was well-located for all the places I wanted to go (and to which I mostly walked or took public transportation, though cabs were very accessible). All in all, I would return here any time I was in Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLH8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. As others have noted, some people expect more of a traditional type B&B, where the owners live on site and you see them every time you come and go. We try to strike a balance between being available for our guests whenever needed, and offering as much privacy as possible, to allow more of an experience of having your own place in the city. We're happy that suited you and we hope to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at Gryphon House a number of times and as always our stay for this years Red Sox opening day was a great experience............Love this place.
Comfy beds, great relaxing rooms and relaxing breakfast. We always want to stay for longer.
Very friendly staff and very clean and wonderfully decorated rooms with all you can ask for in extras.........tea whenever you feel like it, seating in room if eat in is what you like also lots of excellent choices for restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Four floors no elevator so pick the downstairs rooms if that is a problem........they are all wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much! We really appreciate return guests taking the time to post a favorable response! Your good opinion means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very relaxing environment with a very gracious hostess. For a quick visit to Boston it was a great choice. Very close to Kenmore Square so you could walk and enjoy an evening out without having to drive. It was also nice to have parking that didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much--we really appreciate your comments, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is meant to be an enthusiastic review, though it might not sound exactly like one. You know, when you travel a lot, you get used to places that are, well, nice and even fancy, but you never quite relax in them. This wasn't like that, and I noticed it the first day when I was waiting in the lobby area (originally the living room of a brownstone, I think) for my handler to pick me up -- it was like I was at someone's home, hanging out and reading the morning newspaper. This may be TMI, but I never had the reaction I often get, even in nice hotels, that I don't want to touch the surfaces. It was a very comfortable and relaxed space to spend time in; I'd go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmumKabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments! Comfortable and relaxed are exactly the qualities we like to inspire in our guests, and I'm very glad to hear that you weren't afraid to touch our surfaces! :)
Please do come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This B&B is very nicely renovated; it feels like a very nicely appointed apartment away from home. There was a fireplace in my room, several comfortable places to sit, and all sorts of amenities. Some reviewers have noted that it isn't like a "traditional" B&B with an owner who gets to know you, etc. Well, to my mind this is a bonus. I prefer to have my privacy when traveling, and to be able to get out the door in the morning to see the sights without having to chat with people :-) Also, though, I did get great service: breakfast delivered to the room one day, for instance. So this was perfect for me. The breakfast in the morning was very good, as long as you don't expect a hot cooked breakfast; it was continental and had lots of delicious fruit, cheeses, juices, and hard boiled eggs, all eaten in a nicely appointed room with a fireplace and the daily paper. Overall, this was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by street noise, rooms that overlook Bay State road are not good for you. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Gryphon House is lovely in terms of decor, rooms and convenience to the T. All is very nicely appointed and decorated in period furnishings. However, we were disappointed in the service as it seems to be lacking some of the amenities and touches that we usually find in BandB's. The staff while nice are clearly employees and are rotated from day to day so the warmth that comes from having an inn keeper is missing. Breakfast has many offerings in terms of cheeses, pastries, breads, fruit; however, there is no hot breakfast served which is often found at BandB's. We did meet the owner who was very pleasant and graciously replaced the air mattress which was not working very well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,520 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
547 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beacon Hill
John Jeffries House
John Jeffries House
#9 of 37 in Boston
481 reviews
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gryphon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gryphon House

Address: 9 Bay State Rd, Boston, MA 02215-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $171 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gryphon House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even though our 8 room B&B townhouse, between Back Bay & Boston University, is a short walk from some of the city’s finest attractions, it's so beautiful and comfortable that you may just want to stay in with us! The fully appointed accommodations, friendly, knowledgeable staff, and extremely high level of service, combine to form a truly delightful experience for all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gryphon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gryphon House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing