We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
308
71
9
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
71
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenmore squaregarden roomnorth towercharles riverfenway parkboston universityvictoria roomno elevatorhard boiled eggsbed and breakfasthouse is beautifula small kitchen areaplace to stayhome away from homehot breakfastminute walkrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 392 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location of this B&B is conveniently close to Back Bay where we walked to multiple times each day. The rooms were really nice and spacious and the breakfast in the morning was good but was continental style - no hot items. A con was we stayed on the 4th floor and had to carry our food up the stairs to enjoy in our room. Overall everything was good except we thought the beds were too stiff and uncomfortable. We stayed in 2 different rooms during our visit and both beds were bad. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in both rooms on the 4th floor and they were both spacious and gorgeous.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great B&B - well located for getting in and out of town (close to the T) and easy walking distance to places such as Museum of Fine Arts, and plenty of local restaurants to choose from too. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and full of character, as are the main reception rooms. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colimachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed the "character" of our house, too!
It's a lovely place that we are proud to share with nice folks like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great location--close to our daughter's dorm at BU, as well as the Kenmore Square T stop and Newbury Street. We loved our spacious room, which had several comfortable places to sit. The fruit and snacks in the lobby were a nice touch, and we borrowed some DVDs from the hotel's extensive collection to watch in our room. The breakfast was more than adequate--cold cereal, bread, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, juice, and coffee and tea. Will definitely stay here again the next time we visit our daughter!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you here with us, and look forward to seeing you when you visit your daughter again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a wonderful little B&B in the heart of downtown Boston, close to shopping, many restaurants, and Fenway Park. Extremely clean, comfortable, with all amenities you would need, as well as a very hospitable, and friendly staff. Breakfast was delicious, staff was very friendly and very accommodating and helpful with what to see, where to go, how to get there, etc.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you!

Room Tip: Stay on the lower levels as there is no elevator :)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abe1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this B&B after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is located in the brownstone at the very busy street intersection and next to the major highway. When I was booking the room, I specifically asked about the noise and was told that our room is on the 4th floor and that windows are well insulated. They forgot to mention that the room had window AC unit which, in addition to making incredible noise, was also preventing the window from closing. Therefore we 'enjoyed' not only the traffic and AC noise, but also all the smog-filled air coming from the busy street.

The room was spacious but without character. It looked like someone through in all the left over furniture from a garage sale. Blinds were cheap, flimsy plastic. Bed linens were of dirt color and flimsy quality.

Breakfast was typical continental , I tried only a bagel and it was still half-frozen.

Wireless internet as well as internet on the lobby computer was not working.

We quickly checked out the next day (3 days earlier than planned) and booked a room at 10% higher price at Fairmont Hotel Copley Square. What a difference in what one gets for the money! We loved comfortable beds, great location and quiet piece that Fairmont offers!

In summary, Gryphon house needs a major make-over and investement if they intend to keep the current prices. There are much better hotels in Boston to stay at!

Room Tip: Stay away from Aerie
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Boston_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Ouch! I guess all I can say is that I'm sorry you were so disappointed with us! We are planning to overhaul our a/c system during the off season this year--we don't like the window units, either. We do our best to please as many folks as possible, but I guess it's true that we "can't be all things to all people"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews