We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Brimmer St, Boston, MA 02108-1001 (Beacon Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Boston B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband and I found the Beacon Hill B + B to be a comfortable, convenient place to stay. Our plane was late and we arrived around midnight. We called ahead and Susan Butterworth met us at the door, dogs in tow, and quickly showed us the ropes. (I felt safe knowing that the front doors would always be locked.) We felt welcome from that moment. She gave us our choice of breakfast times and, in the morning, cheerfully met and fed us.

Overall, we found the place to be comfortable, clean, and an excellent location for seeing historic Boston. Susan is an intelligent conversationalist who can discuss a wide variety of topics. She also is a great resource for what is in the city. She helped us find bike rentals, taught us about parking in the city and bent over backwards to answer any questions we had. Her dogs quietly welcomed us every morning, were never intrusive and completed the sense of home.

Probably my favorite thing about this B + B was that we were truly sharing a home. It was personal and we felt totally like we belonged.

  • Liked — a sense of home, location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Lovely old building in very pleasant neighbourhood, convenient location. Comfortable room, wide variety of books and travel information to browse, friendly host very accommodating for vegetarians.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank PeterGLCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

As a Bed and Breakfast virgin, my stay at the Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast could not have been more pleasant! The location is peerless if you want to really experience Beacon Hill. My room was lovely, perfectly described on the web site, and the mattress super comfortable. The pair of resident dogs were very welcoming as was the owner. I felt right at home which is a happy coincidence because this B&B is a private residence.
A bientot Mme Butterworth!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank dontgetoutenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

If you want to feel like you are living on Beacon Hill, within an easy stroll of Charles St., Beacon St., Boston Common & Public Garden, then this is your place. Susan Butterworth, the owner and hostess, helped us with all our needs, including suggesting a trolley tour of the city on our first day, which was a wonderful introduction to all the sights of Boston. Our room was beautiful with a large bay window overlooking Storrow Drive and the Charles River. The queen-sized bed had a wonderfully comfortable mattress, while the private bathroom had a powerful shower, something I didn't expect in a historic home. The two friendly dogs never barked and greeted us daily on our return home. I have stayed at B&B's for over 30 years, and the location of the Beacon Hill B&B is among the best I have ever experienced. It is only 1/2 block from Mount Vernon Street, which the novelist Henry James in 1890 called "the most civilized street in America." Need I say more? I will be back! Thank you, Susan.

  • Liked — Location of B&B
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Work2TravelB42Late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We recently spent an enjoyable week here.The elegant house is in an excellent position overlooking the river ,close to transport, all amenities and attractions.
Our bed sit was comfortable and well appointed. Each morning we enjoyed a good breakfast before setting out on the day's adventures.
Susan was a most friendly, welcoming and helpful hostess. Go for it and enjoy!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank MerseyTwodogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

My sisters and I met in Boston for a long weekend and stayed here. We found the place to be quite suitable for what we were looking for. Susan Butterworth made us feel right at home, and accomodated all our requests immediately. The two dogs were wonderful and greeted us each evening as we came home. Meals were fine, and when we asked for things off the original breakfast menu, she quickly agreed. The location is spectacular and it was everything we were looking for.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank bamcinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Mrs. Butterworth. We were given keys and very strict instructions on how she preferred to have the front door locked as we came and went. Upon entering, it was apparant that we were in the owner's - own home. The home was hot, dark and had an old, musty smell. There were two very pleasant dogs, which unfortunately just added to the the overall aroma of the home. Upon climbing the staircase, we were advised to shut the lights off, whenever possible. This meant we had to leave the building dark, and arrive with it being - equally dark. The home was neither fresh or inviting. We found used soap and shampoos in the bathrooms. We found used clothing hanging in the bedroom closets. The owner seemed just too conscious about the cost of lighting and given the overall condition of the house, we were left with the opinion that this establishment could be experiencing financial difficulty. The website for the location quoted air conditioning as an amenity, however we only found open windows and (1) one table top fan per bedroom. The linens were musty, the couch had a dirty smell to it and there was enough dust on the upper hall table, that we literally "signed in" on that dusty surface. The upper hall has a very tall ceiling and we noticed the smoke alarm just sitting on that hall table? The other couple in our party lost electricity in their bathroom within the first hour. The owner blamed that on current construction on the 3rd floor. We left for dinner and researched another hotel to stay at. We arrived back at the location later that evening and found the house to be completely dark. The upper bedrooms were extremely hot and humid. We packed our bags woke the owner up and advised that we were leaving. To our continued surprise, the owner said "nothing", literally "nothing", as she closed and locked the door behind us. This could explain why the owner insisted on getting the one night room deposit, via personal check only.

We left with the impression that the owner has experienced all of this before. By definition, this is not a bed and breakfast.
We should have been warned about any construction at the site as well as there being "no" Air Conditioning. We felt very deceived. We also learned never to leave a room deposit via personal check. We lost our two room - one night deposit <$500.00> , but thankfully, we were able to salvage our much needed vacation by choosing to leave. Stay away from this place, Boston has so much more to offer.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — Losing our one night deposit.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Beacon Hill
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Back Bay
Back Bay Beacon
Back Bay Beacon
#20 of 41 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
South End
Aisling Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The College Club of Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#4 of 41 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#6 of 41 in Boston
5.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beacon Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Brimmer St, Boston, MA 02108-1001
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Boston location, an easy walk to historic sites,Freedom Trail, Boston Common, Boston Public Garden, restaurants, shopping, public garage, subway (Charles/MGH). 2 large bed-sitting rooms, each with private bath in elegant 1869 private home. One has a queen bed, the other a double, plus each has a large sofa-bed. Full home-cooked breakfast included, NO 14% hotel tax, as this is a private home shared by owner and two sweet dogs, who have been receiving guests for over 25 years. 3 night minimum stay except during the winter- 2 night minimum ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill b&b
Beacon Hill Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing