We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but no growing pains.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New but no growing pains.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is one of the new hotels which have emerged around the new Boston convention centre. Is it a gem. The service is superb. Everyone exudes an attitude that they really want to help you.

The rooms are fantastic. They are large with the amenities that I needed.

There is not too much around close by but enough good restaurants to satisfy the business traveller. Of course, if you are there for a convention event, it is perfect.

I would go with the family on the understanding that you will use cabs for the downtown attractions such as the waterfront and Fenway etc. Driving and parking in those areas is not a joy in any case.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    545
    151
    43
    20
See reviews for
223
303
71
548
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg, virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

On a 3-night business trip prior to the recent holidays, I was able to secure a decent room rate for Boston. Since I travel to Boston often, I thought I would try something different in the Marriott portfolio. (I will admit that I am a Marriott loyalist.)

The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport and is located in an excellent area for dining. Taxis and public transportation are readily available. Lobby ambiance is simple, somewhat lacking warmth or atmosphere but still nice, clean, and sleek. Rooms are decorated in red, white and blue and do not coordinate with the public areas. A really poor decorating job altogether and totally disjointed from the other areas of the hotel. However, the hotel missed the most important mark I look for when choosing a business hotel-that is, proving excellent customer service at the front desk.

For example, I arrived on a quiet and stormy Sunday evening after a very bumpy flight from DC. Having made my reservation several weeks before my arrival and as an Elite member, I was disappointed when I was informed by Mario that my requested room and guaranteed (King/Club Floor) was "unavailable" and all they had was a "lovely" harbor view room double, I grudgingly accepted it. But, when entering the room, which was cavernous, it appeared that furniture was missing (such as a desk, comfortable chair) so I requested another room. Since there were "no other available rooms"-King or Double- on the Club Floors, I was then given a corner room on a lower floor with Club Access. But, this room reeked of cigarette smoke (even though Marriott's are nonsmoking hotels). So back to Mario at the front desk in search of another room and miraculously, after speaking with his manager, Mario found a KING room on the Club Floor. I was appreciative of the room, finally, but should have been given this room on arrival, not on the third try. No way to treat your valued guests.

On the opposite end of the scale, the hotel redeemed itself with the excellent service in the Club Lounge. The offerings were high quality and well-attended by the concierge, especially the evening concierge. She made a deliberate effort to welcome each guest upon his or her arrival. It was obvious that she had great rapport with her repeat guests. Very impressive. Bell service in the front lobby was also attentive and extra effort was often observed in obtaining taxis since the hotel is not in the business district.

Another front desk issue that disturbed me from a customer service perspective was my checkout experience. The lone clerk was visibly reading the newspaper (covered his face) so didn't see me when I approached the desk (in a hurry to depart and catch my flight). Again, these aren't major issues but do not reflect proper training for a 4 star hotel front desk staff.

When back in Boston, I will probably not choose this hotel for my lodging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and were very pleased. We only live 20mins away so we know the area well, but we just wanted to get away for a night. The hotel was very clean, the staff was great checking in and out and the room was spacious. The bathroom was perfect and clean. We went to the pool and sat in the hot tub. The pool is on a middle floor and you can feel the bottom of the pool move when you walk in it so it was a weird feeling, but over all it was great. The hot tub was large and the locker rooms were great. They were very clean, the sauna was huge and the shower stalls were massive as well. We only stayed one night, but it was a great stay.

The waterfront area is changing a lot so there is more to do if you stay here. They just put up a new Legal Seafood, Jerry Remy restaurant and if you keep walking towards the city there is Whiskey Priest and Atlantic Beer Garden. My husband used to be a bouncer at the old Seaport Bar which is now the Whiskey Priest so we went there to see a band and the walk was maybe 3mins. Very up and coming area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first trip to Boston, and here are my takes:

1) Easy access to and from the airport.
2) Nice, clean rooms
3) Noisy, I could clearly hear people in the hall, and my neighbor talking lousy
4) Location isn't tourist friendly, you have to take several buses/trains to get to the tourist attractions
5) Nice staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the renaissance Boston waterfront for 6 nights in December 2012. We had a room which had two king beds in it as it was a family of four travelling, hotel is only 10 minuteds from the airport but you certainly never heard any noise from the planes. We got taxi to the hotel from the airport which was $30 and after using the T system on our return journey the four tickets only cost us $10. Hotel is modern with spacious rooms, rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels each day, shower was really powerful which is needed after sightseeing all day. The hotel location is too far away from the centre of Boston if you have kids with you, but you can walk to Boston Common in 35 minutes or so. Fabulous restaurants rights beside the hotel, the LTK serves delicious sea food and the No Name Restaurant situated on the docks, just across the road from the hotel had the best chowder and sea food served to us throughout our trip. All in all a good hotel just a bit far out

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Close to several restaurants in the waterfront area, but approx. 20 minutes walking distance from the city, via a hood which isn't "that nice" in the night... Close to the congress center. Not for the romantic stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Funck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in a clubroom with a co-worker for a conference in November. Much closer to the airport than I thought it would be - it was a quick cab ride away.

Check-in was a breeze. Staff were quick and the lobby was beautiful.

As part of a clubroom we had access to the club lounge. This is where we ate our breakfast during our stay. Breakfast was great and had a good variety of foods each morning. We also visited the club room at the end of the day for complimentary internet service and honor bar. The staff was always welcoming and friendly.

One morning I visited the gym in the hotel. I was impressed with their equipment for a hotel gym. The door was tricky to open with my room card and I had to try it a few times.

Our room was nice and clean, I expected the club room to be larger than it was. In the bathroom there was Aveda shampoo, conditioner, soap and mouth wash. Also a hairdryer, clothing iron and mini fridge. It seemed somewhat odd to us that there was only one bath robe in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,442 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#68 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Address: 606 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-2803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel is located in South Boston and features luxurious accommodations with the latest amenities. This Boston Waterfront hotel is ideal for meeting functions, and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing