We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel - Close to airport!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210 (Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Close to airport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I booked this hotel for a last minute business trip to Boston and couldn’t be more pleased. While it is close to the airport it is surrounded by great restaurants and shops. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. I’ll definitely be back and highly recommended this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trusso8976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    502
    133
    41
    16
See reviews for
197
278
67
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Good:

The hotel is very clean, modern, and atmospherically inviting. The lobby is full of tall, circular walls and the space is very interesting to be in, despite not being huge. The staff is friendly and very attentive. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had great views of the Seaport and other water features. Our room also faced Logan and we were able to see a steady stream of planes coming in across the skyline and diassappearing just before they landed. It was a very fun view (and, also, we never heard any of the planes or any of the Logan noise). Speaking of Logan, the taxi ride was quite short and less than $20.00. The bathroom was standard size, but very clean. The towels were soft and clean. The closet was nicely appointed. The room also had a minifridge that was very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the AC was responsive.

The bad: The in-room coffee pot was lacking and only made two cups of coffee (more, if you wanted decaf). The hotel is "Green" so there is an energy saving master switch for all lights located by the door. If you don't turn on the master switch, then the bathroom and room lights will not operate. That was annoying.

The awesome: We walked from the hotel all along the Freedom Trail every day during our three day stay. Each day we covered almost 5 miles of walking and saw all the sights to see. The walk never seemed long or unpleasant (but if the temps were in the 30s, that could have changed my mind). It is a 20 minute walk to Boston Common, 20 minutes to the Quincey Market, 30 minutes to the Theater District, all by safe, accessible public walking spaces and the amazing greenway belt. When it was time to go shopping, my sister took a taxi to Newbury and then walked back.

I highly recommend this hotel. The restaurants nearby are excellent (LTK, Salvatores) and the room was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DagnyTaggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. I am here now finishing a multinight stay and have enjoyed the amenities and the amazing view. The view, while lovely, is potentially the short-term problem. It is of the harbor, downtown, and the North End, all places I would like to walk around and eat and visit but are not yet close. There is clearly a lot of building going on and it is just a matter of time before this area is fully incorporated into the downtown area. Until then, there is some isolation. Ther are many benefits to being here but do know that you are not going to stroll to Quincy Market. in a moment It is a hike, a ride, or a mass transit event.

With that out of the way, I sing the praises of the hotel. My room is spacious, ultra-clean, has gorgeous city and water views, is a block or two from the Convention Center, and has accommodating public spaces. You will lack for nothing here. There are many busy restaurants of all kinds in the area, and the hotel Navigator (love that rather than the pretentious "concierge") will get you someplace good to eat. It is an area still under development, and soon enough will be just an extension of the familiar downtown hustle and bustle. And when that happens, watch out. It will be a super hot spot.

The bedding is of nice quality and comfortable, the flat screen TV big and new. We had a problem with a movie freezing up on us and the hotel could not have been more accommodating, eventually fixing it after we had already decided to turn in, and then slipping some Starbuck's coupons under the door as a consolation prize. That was very professional and appreciated. It is a well-run hotel.

The hotel is well-soundproofed. While we are very close to the busy airport we cannot hear it at all. I am parked in a pretty expensive public lot nearby, but it was less expensive than the hotel valet by just enough to make me do it. I did not move the car during the stay because... well... I used to live in Boston and know that it is a liability rather than an assett to have to try to park a car at night downtown. There is a bus every 8 minutes or so to South Station and from there you can get just about anywhere, so you certainly are not isolated. But it is cold to wait for the bus, and cabs can be an added and unexpected expense. If I came with my family I think that we would stay here and stuff into cabs if it were winter, or enjoy what is a nice walk in warmer weather. The location is beautiful and interesting and the hotel is reasonably priced. Give it a try.

Thankfully, the hotel itself is so pleasurable that it was a wonderful stay and I will come again, bring a warmer coat in cold weather, and take advantage of all it offers. Nice hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor offers a wonderful view; mine of the city and harbor is great and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights while I attended a conference in the hotel. Very clean and well appointed; little coffee pot, mini refrig. The room was large with a pull out couch in it. There would be plenty of room for a family with a couple of kids sleeping on the couch. Many great restaurants within walking distance; we loved 75 on liberty wharf, ltk, legal seafood, tecmazal, and Salvatore's (we ate here for lunch and dinner). Just walk out the door and across the street and you are on the bus to the metro system going anywhere in the city. Although there is not a lot else in the area, you can walk or take the subway to a lot of historical sights.

Helpful?
Thank KansasAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed one night in July 2012 after we got off the Carnival Glory. Check in was super easy, they held our luggage for us and got us in our room very quick. Very clean rooms, big screen, comfy bed, nice glass shower. Overall amazing experience! They have a travel person in the front lobby that can answer any questions about travelling around town. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airhawk1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great two night stay with family. Average quality room and bath, nothing unusual or better than other Marriotts. Good gym, excellent breakfast and nice lobby bar. Computers in the lobby don't print. No good store or gift shop. Overpriced for what the hotel offers. But there is a Starbucks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is a shame that a recent stay at this otherwise fine hotel was so marred by the thin walls between the rooms. We could hear a moderate conversation word for word from the next room. Things were worse late that evening when there was a loud arguement in the hall for which I had to call security. Last, but not least, our neighbors were up bright and early - and noisy - the next morning. We did not leave very well rested. I will say that the room was very nice otherwise with a great view of Boston and the harbor. Finally, breakfast at the hotel was fair at best. I could not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: The only way to get a good room would be to have empty rooms on either side of yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCB402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#68 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Address: 606 Congress Street, Boston, MA 02210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing