We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. No complaints at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. No complaints at all.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in order to attend a congress at the Convention Center. It is only 3-5 min walk from the venue. I ate lunch at Bar and Grilll 3 times. It was wonderful. I recommend lobster sandwitch and steak (good small size for lunch). Restaurant for breakfast starts at 6:30 am on weekdays and 7:00 am on weekend. Morning buffet was very good. We can order omlet, fried eggs, or pancakes. Lobster omlet was delicious. The menu has a lot of variety. It is $23 including coffee and juice. I ate morning buffet everyday, which is very unusual for me since I normally become tired of the same menu. Waiters and waitresses were very courteous. Karim, Waiter, served us 3 times. He was very nice and pleasant. If you attend a conference at Convention Center in Boston, I highly recommend this hotel. It is only 10 min from Logan Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphiejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    567
    159
    46
    20
See reviews for
232
317
74
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

There is alot of new activity in the Boston waterfront area. There are many restaurants, and many different price ranges, shopping and the contemporary art museum within one to two blocks in each direction from the hotel. Tooms are large, clean, bright and very quiet which is a plus. The beds are very comfortable, and the staff at the hotel was extremely nice and accomodating to special requests. Bathrooms are a good size. It took a bit to adjust the room temperature to the right level, but that could be because of the changing air temperature outside. Starbucks coffee right in the hotel, also used by locals so it's not just a kiosk. The only negative, which really isn't that bad, is the parking which is not directly under the hotel but in the building around the corner. There are also several lots in a 1-to-2 block radius. Definitely stay here if you have activity in the Seaport district, but it's also a very short cab ride to downtown Boston. A bit far if your business is the other side of Copley Square towards Kenmore or in Cambridge. Worth the stay if you get a good rate through the hotel, or on a discount website.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capeweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront. We were spending very little time in Boston, so I chose the location because of its proximity to Menton restaurant, where we had a dinner reservation. Several bars and restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel is close to the Boston convention center, and the area definitely has that kind of "feel" to it.

Our room had a nice harbor view and was generally very good. We only had issues with the shower, which was awkward in that it was necessary to get inside in order to turn on the water, which means you'll get an initial blast of cold water. The shower also leaked through the door onto the bathroom floor.

During the day, beginning at around 9am, was a repetitive loud banging noise. It seemed to come from outside, but I wasn't sure. I recommend checking with the hotel about noise issues if you intend to sleep in during your stay.

Staff treated us well. My wife's recent Marriott Rewards status upgrade wasn't appearing in their system for some reason. The front desk did not give us a room upgrade, but provided us with club access and refunded our wireless internet charge, which should have been included anyways due to my wife's status. Breakfast in the club was only served until 9:30am, at least on weekdays.

Our room was booked as an award stay, which made it a pretty good value for us. I saw what the regular rate was for our stay and would have considered it a poor value at around $500 per night.

Room Tip: Harbor view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissance one night before a cruise. Admittedly, I used Marriott points to defray the cost. Most of the nice hotels in that area are not exactly inexpensive.

The room was comfortable and quiet. Our room had a small refrigerator and a one cup coffee maker. The flat screen TV offered about 50 channels, many of which were in real HD rather than analog mode. Free WiFi is available in the lobby. WiFi in the room had a fee.

Our stay was made more enjoyable by the proximity to restaurants, transportation, and the cruise port. The Silver Line 1 Bus costs $2.50 for each person to/from any Logan terminal to within a block of the hotel. We took a cab to the pier because it was raining a bit - fare $5.50 plus tip. We walked back from the pier to the hotel on the return from the cruise pulling our luggage. It was an easy walk. The Renaissance stored our luggage for us while we ate lunch and walked around the waterfront. We returned to Logan on the Silver Line 1 bus. The Silver Line bus stop coming from Logan is a block away from the Silver Line bus stop going to Logan. Both stops are very close to the hotel.

A deli is around the corner and across the street from Legal Seafood, Del Frisco, and a sports bar. A 7-11 and a Dunkin Doughnut stores ares nearby. We bought drinks, snacks, and pastries at the deli rather than snacking/drinking in the restaurants. Everyone in the hotel and in the area were very nice to us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba'sDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed on business in October 2012. Hotel is lovely. Rooms excellent and very clean. Starbucks on the lobby. Gym is fair. Hard to fault it but bar and overall the hotel is expensive. I think there are better hotels for the price in Boston (some more central).

Room Tip: River taxi from airport will bring you right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmooneynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

On a business trip in the US, I was staying at this hotel. It's located in the uprising district of Boston with a lot of construction around - with the impact to traffic - and the airport being very audible. There are some restaurants around - but any other activity, unless you're a fisherman, you take quite some time to get into town. The entrance is fashionable and the rooms are neat but nothing unusual for this chain of hotels. The Starbucks next to the entrance would be a great win - if the staff were only a little competent in their daily routines - but that's a topic for a different rating. Although the hotel propagates being green by having Master switches to their rooms - these switches are not really master and the best of all - they have lovely electric heaters in front of the hotel to keep the guests warm that wait forever for their taxis to pull up. Solid but no unusual experience - expecially the pillows are a hate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Path F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location! Right around the corner from Legal Seafood and from lots o great restaurants! This hotel also is close to public transportation. The only problem is that there is construction across the street. However, we found the room to be surprisingly quiet. We asked for and got a water view room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,699 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Aloft Boston Seaport
Aloft Boston Seaport
#61 of 83 in Boston
288 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Envoy Hotel, Autograph Collection
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Element Boston Seaport
Element Boston Seaport
#60 of 83 in Boston
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel

Property: Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
Address: 606 Congress St, Boston, MA 02210-2803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Boston Waterfront hotel is located in South Boston and features luxurious accommodations with the latest amenities. This Boston Waterfront hotel is ideal for meeting functions, and wedding events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Boston
Boston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing