We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Town Trolley Tour Boston”

Old Town Trolley Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.95*
and up
Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 139 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Town Trolley Tours of Boston shows you the best of Boston on their 100-minute, fully narrated tour. As the official tour of the Boston Red Sox, guests will enjoy 19 stops, including Fenway Park, where you may disembark for shopping, dining and attractions. Each ticket comes with free admission to a 45 minute cruise of Boston Harbor, the Old State House Museum and coupons worth over $50 in savings. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
La Salle, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Town Trolley Tour Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston is a must! You see all the highlights of Boston and then can go back to where you want to go and spend more time. They give you 2 days to use the trolley and throw in a harbor cruise or museum on top of it. We always do a trolley tour in a city we are visiting to hear all about the history of the city. Big Al was the tour guide and made the trip very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,689
    730
    214
    102
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosedale, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Town Trolley Tours - The Way To Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Old Town Trolley Tours is the best! My husband and I used this tour service when we were on a cruise and one of the stops was Boston. We were only there a few hours while our ship was in port and in that short amount of time we were able to see a nice slice of Boston thanks to this terrific tour company. All of the guides were tremendous from Mission Mitch to Peppermint Patti. The price was right and a trolley was always available to get you to the next stop. The hop on and hop off was top notch. I highly recommend using Old Town Trolley Tours if you are ever in Boston, I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to Boston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time in Boston. Overnight for New England-Canada cruise. This was a great way to see a bit of the city for a few hours before departure. It's hop on/hop off, but with limited time, we stayed on. Terrific driver/guide named Corey. Amazing driving through narrow, crowded streets while calmly describing all the points of interest...still don't know how he managed that, but he did it with apparent ease. We plan to return to Boston in the spring for a longer visit and we'll be back on the Old Town Trolley for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tazcat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, Ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good way to get around Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a convenient way to travel around the historical sites of Boston. Riders are allowed to get off at the stops, and re-board on another trolley at their convenience. The drivers act as tour guides, and share interesting facts of Boston history. River, Mr T, and Crackerjack are very entertaining guides, with their own unique styles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NPTk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

As we all know the devil is in the details. We purchased a pass that included a Harbor Cruise and entrance to the Boston Tea Party Museum. We wanted to visit the Tea Party museum and the USS Constitution, and the cruise dropped you nearby the Naval yard. This saved money purchasing this way. The concept is good, but the following need to be taken into account;

To begin there are few marked pickup spots, so figuring out exactly where to stand to get on the trolley is interesting. Then so many of the trolley's are full when they stop, and you have to wait for the next one, and sometimes even another one. This all adds up to a lot of waiting and standing around for trolleys, which in turn eats up precious time for sightseeing. And in a town that (curiously) shuts all tours down at 5pm! this is very critical. The two drivers we had were quite personable and did share some good information and history. We actually only were able to ride 2 different times in an entire day, and opted to walk to the included Harbor Cruise out of fear of missing that due to the wait for a trolley. What a pity.

In a nutshell, I would only recommend purchasing this knowing you will be waiting a lot and will need to utilize it for the two days the pass is good for ( information which unfortunately our Concierge did not share with Us on our 1st of 2 days in Boston, but that's another story!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank trra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing