We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Informative”

Old Town Trolley Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.90*
and up
Boston Ghosts and Gravestones Tour
Ranked #15 of 142 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Town Trolley Tours of Boston shows you the best of Boston on their 100-minute, fully narrated tour. As the official tour of the Boston Red Sox, guests will enjoy 19 stops, including Fenway Park, where you may disembark for shopping, dining and attractions. Each ticket comes with free admission to a 45 minute cruise of Boston Harbor, the Old State House Museum and coupons worth over $50 in savings. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The trolley drivers were very informative and educational, we learned so much! Some were funnier than others, some were a bit more serious - it was interesting to see the different personalities. We had Coach, Mr. T and somebody else - a little more dry, and therefore less memorable. Nonetheless, we felt like we saw the entire city this way, we had a ticket that allowed us to hop on and off for two days. We were passed over a few times for lack of vacancy on a trolley, but they usually showed up shortly afterwards. We had the best time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hospi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston! I am glad you felt like you got a good sense of the city riding with us. Also, I am glad you enjoyed the variety amongst the Tour Conductors. That is the aspect of our tours I enjoy most. The variety is especially apparent this time of year, because we have just started hiring more conductors to fill out our ranks for the busier season, which means there are a lot of veteran drivers, such as Mr. T and Coach, and a lot of rookies who are in the process of tweaking and perfecting their personas. It is a fun time of year.

We would love to show you around Boston again, but if you cannot join us soon, please consider checking out our tours in one of our sister cities: Key West, St. Augustine, Savannah, Washington D.C., San Diego.

Ever in sincerity,
Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,744
    750
    220
    105
    104
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Boston”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent trolley tour of Boston, would recommend and use again, J was extremely knowledgeable about her beloved city's history injecting humour and song along the ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ewood1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of our Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston! I am glad you enjoyed it so much. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to J. All of our Tour Conductors put so much effort into developing their characters while still transporting their guests safely across the city. Hearing feedback like yours means a lot to them.

Please come visit us here in Boston again very soon!

In hospitality,
Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good for an overview”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The tour was a good way to get an overview of Boston. The trolleys were packed and that was a deterrent for us to hop off. The conductors were good at radioing in for additional trolleys and the company seemed to respond well to those requests. We got a good overview of Boston but took the T to revisit specific sights. We only had 2 days in Boston so we couldn't afford to wait in line for too long.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for your review of our Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston. I am so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your experience riding with us. Unfortunately, you visited us during our annual transition period from the slower winter season to the busy spring/summer season, wherein we start hiring more drivers and sales representatives. During the end of March we also saw an unexpected surge in business. Simply put, we were not operating at peak efficiency when you rode with us and I apologize for that.

We would love to host you in Boston again to give you a better impression of service. I hope you will give us another opportunity to do so.

Sincerely,
Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth every penny & then some! Best choice we made on trip!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

For a first trip to a historical city, we could not have made a better choice in spending money to get these tickets! Since we went in winter, the tickets were good for a WEEK, longer than we were even there! We could take our time to do the whole tour the first day, and the. Spend the next days going back to places where we wanted to explore further. Almost all of the drivers we had were nice and funny and SO knowledgable! One advantage to taking the trip day after day is that we heard some facts over enough to actually remember them! And it seemed each driver also had some new little tidbit to give us even more interesting, fun, and sometimes just silly info about the city & its history. We did sometimes feel a little confined to the 4:00 ending time, but were assured that the trolleys would continue to run until every last person was back at the place they wanted to be, so that eased our minds. At $32, we found the price to e very fair, even before we knew it lasted for a week! Another bonus - a lot of the drop off/pick up places were at hotels and every single hotel staff made us feel welcomed to come in & get warm while waiting. Many of them thanked us for visiting their city! We felt wanted and appreciated! Gonna try to treat tourists better where I live, based on this experience! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank srcsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Wow! I could not ask for a better review. I am glad you so thoroughly enjoyed our Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston. Thank you so much for your kind words about our Tour Conductors. They all follow a common script, but they each put a lot of time and effort into crafting their acts and jokes to distinguish themselves. I will be sure to pass on your compliments.

If you enjoyed our tour, please look for us in one of our sister cities: Key West, St. Augustine, Savannah, Washington D.C., San Diego.

In hospitality,
Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am always willing to try the Trolley Tours in the different cities I have visited I find the tours a great way to see the sights Old Town Trolley did not disappoint We bought tickets and found that they were running a special so the tickets were good for 7 consecutive days I thought that was a great deal The Trolley drivers were all great telling lots of stuff about Boston while pointing out the sights I also like the option to get on and off so you can spend time at different places I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone heading to Boston

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nillas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston! I am so glad you and your family enjoyed our tour--especially since you appear to be highly experienced in our various trolley tours.

Please visit us again in Boston as soon as your are able.

Sincerely,
Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing