We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Town Trolley- old jokes”

Old Town Trolley Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.95*
and up
Boston Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 142 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Town Trolley Tours of Boston shows you the best of Boston on their 100-minute, fully narrated tour. As the official tour of the Boston Red Sox, guests will enjoy 19 stops, including Fenway Park, where you may disembark for shopping, dining and attractions. Each ticket comes with free admission to a 45 minute cruise of Boston Harbor, the Old State House Museum and coupons worth over $50 in savings. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Town Trolley- old jokes”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love taking the sightseeing tours in a new town. They give you a quick tour, you can jump on and off at every stop. This tour company is great in Savannah, Ga, but skip them in Boston.
They play Rich Little style impressionist voiceovers for safety announcements. Terminator style- "I'll be back --"if you don't follow the rules and stay in your seats. I felt like I my great grandpa should have been the tour director.

Skip this compnay, as there are many other choices. Surely, the others are not as corny and outdated as this one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank texas-fornow-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston. I'm sorry that you found the safety announcements (delivered by various celebrity voices) to be unappealing. The recorded safety announcements make up only a small portion of the tour content, and interestingly, a number of other guests have written in to say how much they enjoyed the recorded announcements.

In any case, I apologize that the announcments detracted from your enjoyment of the tour. At Old Town Trolley we are always focussed on maintaining the safety and comfort of our guests. We'll continue to find ways to remind our guests of important safety suggestions, but try to find ways that are more to everyone's liking.

Thanks again for your comments. It's only when we hear from our guests that we can improve what we're doing.

In hospitality,

Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,702
    737
    214
    103
    103
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“100 minutes...worth every minute”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is an old-fashioned way to tour Boston and it is really interesting. We had guests from overseas who wanted to take the trolley tour and after I did, I realized that there is so much of Boston that I didn't know about. The tour is good, the guide is great and the rates don't kill you.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SrijitNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks very much for your positive comments about your tour on Old Town Trolley. I'm so glad that you and your guests enjoyed the tour. Here's hoping we see you in Boston soon again.

Regards,

Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguanga, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see overview of Boston”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Christian was an amazing source of knowledge of Boston, very entertaining, and he made the tour way more fun than the other two drivers whom we also rode with. We hadn't been to Boston so it was a fun way to see it "all" when we had limited time to spend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks very much for your positive comments about your tour on Old Town Trolley. I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to Christian.....I know he'll appreciate knowing he made such a good impression.

I invite you to take tours in our other Historic Tours of America cities: Key West, Saint Augustine, Savannah, Washington DC, and San Diego.

Thanks again for your comments.

In hospitality,

Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“excellent way to see Boston”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had guests from Munich in September who wanted to tour Boston's historic sites. Old Town Trolley Tours was excellent. It's the best way to see a lot of Boston and learn the history. You can get on and off wherever you want to see particular points of interest. The trolley drivers were very informative. Our package included a boat tour of the Boston Harbor. We stopped at most points of interest and also ate at the marketplace. We toured the Boston Common, and the U.S.S. Constitution, walked along Rose Wharf on the waterfront, and stopped at Cheers. We never would have seen as much had we walked. We did skip a few stops. It really would be better to have two days. It was a really fun day for all of us and the highlight of the trip to the U.S. for our guests. Downside? Boston tea party museum was not included and it was $25 per person. We skipped it. That is a ridiculous price to pay. Great day and we all learned a lot about colonial times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vickietoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I'm so glad that you and your friends from Munich enjoyed the Old Town Trolley Tour of Boston. It sounds like you took full advantage of all the tour's features, getting off and on at the various sights, and doing the "extras" such as the seasonal Boston Harbor Cruise.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have an oppotunity to visit the Boston Tea Party Ships & Museum. With costumed actors, authentic replicas of the original ships, and high-tech exhibits that dramatically tell the story of this most important event, I belive you would find it to be a very compelling experience.

Thanks agin for taking time to share your comments. Here's hoping we see you in Boston soon again.

Sincerely,

Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
329 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“History Like You've Never Gotten it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Old Town Trolley Tour run by the Historical Tour society was so worth the $40! You can ride all day for two days, make as may stops as you want, and get history lessons from the conductors. The conductors give up a serving of historical tidbits and stories with humor and tips on when to get off the trolley and visit a stop. There are over 20 stops in Boston and a few more in Cambridge. Having a window seat is best if you're taking pictures - the trolley goes slow enough and even stops in front of attractions so you can get the shot. They have a shorter tour, but this was the better I think. You also get a Free harbor cruise with this purchase!
http://www.trolleytours.com/boston/

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your Old Town Troley Tour of Boston. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our two-day ticket, getting off and on at the various stops, and taking the Boston Harbor Cruise that's included.

Thanks again for your positive comments. Here's hoping we see you in Boston soon again!

Regards,

Matthew Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing