We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot”

New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,381 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband had the lunch menu which included egg roll, hot sour soup and main entree for less than $5. Great value for money. The clams with black bean sauce had fabulous sauce!

Helpful?
Thank trustinginHim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Seafood”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are looking for Americanized Chinese restaurant with uncluttered bathrooms with no odd smells and wait staff that speak fluent English, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a good black bean clams and salt and pepper fried calamari, then come here. Albeit, the clams seemed a bit skimpy and the calamari wasn't as crisply fried as I would have liked. For two, the bill came out to $35. Obviously, we couldn't order the variety that we would have like due to the fact that there were only two of us, but I would return to try their other items.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank da_cookinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite Good - Would Recommend”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I visited Boston at the end of June for the first time. My hometown, Vancouver, has some of the best Chinese food in North America.v As I am Chinese, I like to try Chinese food in other Cities to see how it compares.

I would say the food in this restaurant is quite solid. It is not fine dining by Asian standards or what I would call modern, but one would find a very good family style meal. The place full which was a very good sign. The atmosphere was likely. I would say the service is fine with the staff perhaps a bit hurried which is typical in most Asian restaurants. They had a very good selection of seafood and the prices seemed reasonable. We had the lobster and quite enjoyed it.

We came away quite satisfied, enjoyed ourselves, and with a good impression of Boston Chinatown. An old-school kind of experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
“Employees here look like they hate their jobs”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My family was visiting Boston for the first time and we wanted to go out for lobster in Chinatown. This was one of the first Chinese seafood restaurants I came across online with good reviews, so we decided to give it a try ... What a huge disappointment. The hostess and waiters were unfriendly and appeared as if they were merely going through the motions of working there. The atmosphere was uncomfortable. The lobster was overpriced, especially for its size. And if you want free alcohol, there are apparently cases of beer stored in the restrooms. Public health violation? Gross. Definitely not recommending this place to anyone. We went down the street to try New Golden Gate Seafood for a significantly better atmosphere, excellent value, and warm customer service. Ironically, we saw some other disappointed patrons who made the same switch that evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Good food and lots of it. Lots of chinese people at this restaurant which speaks volumes. Ambience / setting is average so don't go here if you want posh !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lassie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing