We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly- a change of ownership”

New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1,456 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clearly- a change of ownership”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In January, we had a carry-out order of some of our (previously) favorite dishes like the hot and sour soup- it was neither; dry scallop fried rice- tasteless; and, the kung pao shrimp- on a blind-tasting we would not have known we were eating shrimp. Summary- a totally disappointing meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pebent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife ,grandson and myself ate at New Jumbo, We are fans of chinese food and this did not

outstanding, The portions are huge , amy seafood dish would be great. , we had a pu pu platter,which has egg roll,fried shrmp, boneless pork strips, chicken wings, beef teriyaki,
and chicken fingers, my wife had shrimp with lobster sauce, grandson had shrimp with
cashew nuts, I had beef with black bean sauce. Everything we had was top notch,
The service in the New Jumbo was the best i have ever seen . We talked to the owner
who was checking to see if our food was good. Also we where there when the restaurant
was very busy,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidkMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you like large portions of perfectly tasting traditional chinese food menu options, this is a place for you. Added to that are many non-traditional options (such friend milk). You get a large circular family style table and can watch cool live future food in the aquariums. This is a great Chinatown option.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckoelbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Our favorite Chinatown restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been eating at New Jumbo in Chinatown for over 10 years now and it is always fantastic. Hong Kong style is our "soul food", and I don't think there is better Hong Kong style food than New Jumbo in Chinatown or their other restaurant in Newton.
At New Jumbo Chinatown we highly recommend peapod stems, pan-fried chow mein (Hong Kong style) and any fried tofu dish.
Lobster and other seafood dishes are amazing too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffChing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Maybe an off night..”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went here based on the great TripAdvisor reports, but were not impressed. Shrimp with walnuts was just OK, fried softshell crabs were greasy. Certainly, authentic food in the heart of Chinatown. It wasn't a bad meal, but did not live up to other postings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarge56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to New Jumbo Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing