We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable, comfortable.”
Review of Nolan House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nolan House B&B
Ranked #14 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Had a lovely time staying at the Nolan House. Everything was clean and comfortable. The owners were friendly and attentive. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blank_square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

I opted for a bed and breakfast over a hotel and was more than pleased at my find. I found my hosts gracious and accommodating, the rooms spacious and charming in a shabby chic way, the bed extremely comfortable, the house peaceful and quiet, and the breakfast generous. The location was great--good access to public transportation--and a brisk walk from the new Convention Center, which was exactly what I was looking for. The only drawback were the steps--hard on someone like me with a bad knee--but I expected that with an old house. Loved the old radiator heat which reminded me of my childhood. Would recommend to single travelers, or couples, looking for a good hotel alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

If you're looking for the Marriott, stay at the Marriott. But if you want to feel relaxed and comfortable, you cannot beat this B&B. John and Kathy Nolan are wonderful people who welcomed us into their private home, even over the Christmas holidays. We had such a great time that we hated to leave. The stay usually includes a lavish breakfast, which we didn't try until the last day. John is a wonderful cook! Be sure to take advantage of this! He makes a great pot of tea, too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SulphurBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My Dad always advised me to withhold public criticism whenever possible. But this place needs to be exposed for what it is - a sad excuse for a Boston Bed & Breakfast.

As an owner of several older (80-125 years) homes past and present I would describe their house as in poor condition and architecturally unremarkable. Ouch.

As someone who spent years serving the public and trying to make them happy and exceed their expectations I would describe the Nolan's as woefully out of step with similar B&B's I've visited throughout the US. They are all about the Nolan's rather than all about their guests. Ouch x 2.

Finally, the location is OK - if you need to be on this part of Boston. But as a tourist I found that this was not a good spot to walk to the main attractions of Boston. Ouch x 3.

We moved after one night to the far more pleasant and well located Charlesmark Hotel across from the Boston public library.

Being my own self critic I can excuse the Nolan's performance on the night we stayed there as having been a mere "off night". Unlikely but possible. They were curt at best. Rude would be the word my Mother would use. Their moodiness aside, the rooms we saw were dismal - unless you want to live among the most tasteless of your grandmother's nick nacks and baubles. Not recommended.

Finally, their hand written notes warning are almost worth the trip to this charmless outpost. These incredible notes all around the bed room and the (SHARED) bathroom were priceless testament to the Nolan's interest in bending the will of their "guests" to hang towels a certain way and to leave this light switch off but that one on, etc.

Summary - if the Nolan's spent as much time, effort and energy seeking to make their guests enjoy their stays as they did in writing these over the top notes? They would be running the Ritz-Carlton of Boston B&B's. As it is, they are in the wrong business.

I'm thinking they might fit well as taxi dispatchers in a future life. THEN they can control how things run and have few worries about service and aesthetics.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Delightful discovery. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and assistance. The rooms are large and lovely; the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and the price is reasonable. Hope to return another time.
A. & B. R. from Canada (Ontario)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJohn022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I think this is the sort of place you either love or hate, depending on what you are looking for in a place to stay. As others have said, the beds were comfy, the rooms were spacious, the breakfasts were delicious and John was a friendly and helpful host. And it was clean, which is of course crucial. But, the stair carpet was threadbare, the decor was dreary, the lighting in the bedrooms was poor, there was little in the way of storage space in my room at least and the whole place (inside and out) felt slightly spooky. And of course there were all the notes around the place which others have mentioned. All-in-all, if you like something a bit out-of-the-ordinary, you will like it here. I however did not find it great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Love Travelliing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We've stayed at the Four Seasons, and these beds are far superior. Best nights sleep we've had on any of our travels. We plan on getting our own.

The rooms are impeccably clean, cozy and comfy. Furnished with a nod to the period of the house.

Be sure to visit the rooftop deck for great views of Boston and the sky. A nice getaway space.

The breakfast is large and delicious and is as hearty as advertised. More than sufficient it was for us in getting through the mornings.

The location is convenient to public transportation and street parking is relatively easy and available [for Boston!]. Very convenient to the Boston Conference Center as well.

Realize this was built as a large, single family house in the late 1800's, so the bathrooms are shared- they are very clean and functional. There are only about 3-4 bedrooms in the house, so it doesn't get really crowded. Yes the floors creak, but wouldn't you after 100 years? [the creaks are charming]

For the price, we were very happy with our stay. You cannot find any decent hotels anymore for under $200 in big cities, and we paid considerably less than that for a charming, quiet house with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesOntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolan House B&B

Address: 10 G St, South Boston, Boston, MA 02127-1409
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nolan House is a small non-smoking Bed & Breakfast in a privately owned circa 1860 Victorian private home. All guest rooms are clean and spacious, have TV/VCR, air conditioning and are furnished to create a warm and comfortable "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. We are extremely convenient to the Boston Convention Center, the Garden, and the Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nolan House Hotel Boston
Nolan House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing