We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, lovely room, friendly welcome.”
Review of Nolan House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nolan House B&B
Ranked #14 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Delightful discovery. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and assistance. The rooms are large and lovely; the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and the price is reasonable. Hope to return another time.
A. & B. R. from Canada (Ontario)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJohn022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

I think this is the sort of place you either love or hate, depending on what you are looking for in a place to stay. As others have said, the beds were comfy, the rooms were spacious, the breakfasts were delicious and John was a friendly and helpful host. And it was clean, which is of course crucial. But, the stair carpet was threadbare, the decor was dreary, the lighting in the bedrooms was poor, there was little in the way of storage space in my room at least and the whole place (inside and out) felt slightly spooky. And of course there were all the notes around the place which others have mentioned. All-in-all, if you like something a bit out-of-the-ordinary, you will like it here. I however did not find it great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Love Travelliing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We've stayed at the Four Seasons, and these beds are far superior. Best nights sleep we've had on any of our travels. We plan on getting our own.

The rooms are impeccably clean, cozy and comfy. Furnished with a nod to the period of the house.

Be sure to visit the rooftop deck for great views of Boston and the sky. A nice getaway space.

The breakfast is large and delicious and is as hearty as advertised. More than sufficient it was for us in getting through the mornings.

The location is convenient to public transportation and street parking is relatively easy and available [for Boston!]. Very convenient to the Boston Conference Center as well.

Realize this was built as a large, single family house in the late 1800's, so the bathrooms are shared- they are very clean and functional. There are only about 3-4 bedrooms in the house, so it doesn't get really crowded. Yes the floors creak, but wouldn't you after 100 years? [the creaks are charming]

For the price, we were very happy with our stay. You cannot find any decent hotels anymore for under $200 in big cities, and we paid considerably less than that for a charming, quiet house with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesOntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Nice rooms, good breakfast and very friendly hosts. We felt at home and enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincyberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Nolans are friendly and helpful. We felt "at home".

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0123456Wuerzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Luckly, our stay was only for three days and two nights... The location is awful, and it was really dark and scary at night. Mr. Nolan was always pleasant, but Mrs. Nolan was rude- she yelled at me and my friend for wanting to pay her early. She refused the money and told us that she only wanted to deal with the third person in our group (who wasn't present at the time), because she was the one who had made the reservations. The "notes" all over the bathroom and the room were quite annoying, although they served as joke material for the entire stay. They were a little ridiculous- no eating in the room, no taking showers after 12pm or before 5am... a little like a boarding school. The cereal at breakfast was expired. Sadly, I'm convinced that i got plantar warts from using the shower there---- I suggest not staying here at all, but if you must, I suggest taking flip flops...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greeneyedkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Sadly we did not receive a warm welcome at the Nolan House. The initial comment was "Your'e too early." It was late afternoon,after 5pm and within the time frame we had indicated. No glass of water ,coffee or tea was offered. They appeared only interested in taking our full payment. The carpet leading to our room upstairs was threadbare and tired. The main room light did not work. The room was cluttered with cheap china ornaments, a mixture of Chinese china and British Royal souvenirs and dried flowers, NO room to put our things. The handbasin in the bathroom was cracked. There were negative notices everywhere telling guests what not to do. The downstairs bathroom is in a cupboard under the stairs and is very cramped. It is hardly ensuite as it is across the hall from the bedroom. The location is pleasant, some good pubs to eat in and buses nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
366 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
444 reviews
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Back Bay
463 Beacon Street Guest House
Beacon Hill
John Jeffries House
John Jeffries House
#10 of 37 in Boston
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolan House B&B

Address: 10 G St, South Boston, Boston, MA 02127-1409
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South Boston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nolan House is a small non-smoking Bed & Breakfast in a privately owned circa 1860 Victorian private home. All guest rooms are clean and spacious, have TV/VCR, air conditioning and are furnished to create a warm and comfortable "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. We are extremely convenient to the Boston Convention Center, the Garden, and the Black Falcon Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nolan House Hotel Boston
Nolan House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing