We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wyoming
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We booked this hotel through Hotwire, and loved it. I didn't mind that they charged for internet as we travel with a laptop and a broadband card, and our own small coffeepot: most high end hotels don't provide a coffeepot. I loved the details in the hotel: the doorbell for the room, the 'do not disturb' that was controlled inside the room [ever stayed somewhere that a kid put their sign on your room for kicks???} and just the lovely decor. We had a corner room with a great view; I didn't feel as though they discriminated against us because of getting the room on Hotwire; and the room was huge. I've stayed in places where the whole room was smaller than the Intercontinental's bathroom! We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants but they looked great. The short walk to the T was a great feature, as we don't keep a rental car when visiting Boston.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,558
    836
    198
    73
    65
See reviews for
849
1,277
185
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I stayed here two years ago in july and it was an incredible time! The location is great, tons of restaurants and shopping all within great walking distance. The rooms are great with flat screen tv's and comfortable beds, the bathrooms are beautiful along with the decore. The restaurant is incredible considering the chef is Two-star Michelin Chef Jacques Chibois. (presentation and flavour of food was stunning) In my mind this is a 5 star hote with the best service i have ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

I recently took the whole family (two kids ages 5 and 9) for an overnight to Boston and found a great deal on HotWire for the Intercon. The hotel is in a great location, very clean and modern, spacious room with a fabulous bathtub and shower (and a pool for the kiddies) -- all terrific! My only beef - and it's a BIG one - is that our room was near a very noisy service elevator (we think, although we never actually saw one) that literally woke us ALL up repeatedly all night long. With two kids who usually sleep like rocks, it would have had to have been loud and it was! The thumping noises started late at night and recurred regularly every 15 minutes or so, making the room shake. It sounded like large furniture being turned over, followed by thumps and the sounds of what seemed to be large elevator doors closing -- not your typical hotel noises. Very disappointing as all we were really concerned about was a getting a peaceful night's sleep. Had we stayed more than one night, I would have requested we be moved. Not sure if this is a result of getting a great last minute deal, but if you go this route, don't stay in rooms 546-548, which share the end of a corridor overlooking the canal. I'd definitely stay here again for the right price, barring the noises!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magrose621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Booked this hotel using Priceline. A negative of Priceline is that you cannot indicate how many beds so I contacted the hotel directly and spoke with a reservation agent who noted the request for two beds but could not guarantee it. With supervisor's approval, we were given an upgraded room as there were no rooms available in the price range booked. The room which overlooked the waterfront was spacious with trendy furniture and was immaculate. As we checked in after 10pm, dining options was limited to sushi which was not appealing at that time of night so we ordered Room Service which was quite pricey but we had really no choice. A charge of $6 to use the computer in the Business Center. The hotel is located in the financial district with the "T" being two blocks is convenient. A negative to this hotel, there are few dining options near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennis0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

I booked the Intercontinental last minute on hotwire for a college visit. The room was spacious and beautiful, as was the bathroom and the gym. The porter and concierge were very helpful. The front-desk staff were not interested in pleasing the hotwire traveler at all and made sure we got the most inconvenient room without a water view.
I was disappointed that the parking fee was $39, the internet $15 and there was no free or cheap coffee available anywhere. I had to walk five blocks to Panera for coffee.
I would prefer to have breakfast, parking and internet included in the rate. I could have booked a cheaper hotel with all that included.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDisDutiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We liked it. We stayed 4 nights for a visit to the city.

Location is in the Business District but not far either by foot or by the T to other parts of Boston. Nice harborside walk to Long Wharf and adjacent Faneuil Hall. South Station T stop is only a couple of hundred yards away and convenient.

The foyer is huge, elegantly furnished, even had a log fire in a corner. A lot of noise in the foyer in the evenings from the bar Rhumba, but this was not transmitted to other parts of the hotel. Helpful bellhops and friendly and informative check-in.

Fast elevators, no delays or queues for these during our stay.

The room was great. Basic room, upgraded to a "waterfront view" - which was actually mostly of the opposite wing of the hotel, although the river (and even the open sea) could be seen 45 degrees to the right. But the room was spacious and clean, smartly furnished, and the bed was large and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was large, nice bath, rather slow flow through the sink faucets though. As other reviewers have pointed out there is a sliding frosted window from the bathroom into the bedroom. We liked it. No coffee maker. Usual IC-type prices for the minibar and room service ($7 for a beer, $20 for a half bottle of wine, $24 breakfast or burger). Wifi internet was about $16 per day, but $40 for a week.

On the second floor there is a spa with fitness area and lap pool. The pool is not so deep, only 1.5m maximum, and a touch on the cool side, but enjoyable. Separate male and female Turkish rooms in the changing rooms, no jacuzzi or sauna.

We did not use the restaurant or the bar.

We got a great rate through Hotwire who then (unbelievably) refunded us 50% as the hotel did not have the self-service guest laundry originally advertised, so we were laughing throughout our stay, but I would happily stay here again for another visit even at a more typical rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We got a great rate on Hot Wire ($113 plus fees) and were really pleased to have been awarded the Intercontinental. We stayed 5 nights. I called about two weeks before our arrival and requested two beds (we are a family of 3) and they said they couldn't promise but to call the day of our arrival. I did. We arrived at the hotel around 9:00 on Friday night and checked in-they were able to accomodate our request for two beds. Check in was very quick and friendly.
Bellman was there to help with bags.

As many have mentioned the lobby is really pretty, it is large with several seating areas about. The bar was LIVE! Lots of people in there having a great time. Wish we could have joined them!

Our room was on the 12th (top floor) and it was awesome! It was huge!! I believe it was meant to be part of a suite because the room next door did not have it's own # or doorbell. Therefore there was no one in the room next door. Large closet with a safe (big enough to hold the lap top). Very large bathroom with separate shower and giant tub. Lots of room to store your stuff-loads of towels. Why only one bathrobe? I'm sure they would have brought more had we asked-we didn't.

We did not have the bathroom window we've heard so much about

The beds and the bedding were so comfortable and the blackout curtains did the trick-we slept like rocks.
It was a really quiet room. . never heard another soul.

Flat screen TV on top of a dresser which held the mini bar -don't touch anything you don't want to pay for-and it had a couple of drawers. There was also a desk and a chair, ottoman and reading lamp. There was still plenty of room to move around.
We had a view of the opposite side of the building (it's kind of U shaped) and a little bit of the water-it was just fine.
Never had to wait for an elevator
The concierge was very helpful-we spoke to her everyday to solicit advice and she did not fail us!
There was always a doorman out front to greet us and get a cab or direct us.

The room was clean and pretty and well cleaned everyday.

Gym was huge and had tons of machines and free weights-water and towels. The lap pool was nice too.

Didn't eat at either of the restaurants but they looked nice. Tried to have lunch at Miel but they stop serving at 2:30 and we got there too late-our fault for not looking.

I liked the location. We could walk to everything-which we did. We originally had booked a room at the Marriott Copely Place and I'm glad we did not end up in that location. It was very busy and it was attached to a pretty generic mall.


So there you have all the positive aspects of this really pretty, well run hotel. Here are the things that kept me from rating the Intercontinental as "excellent" (although there are many excellent aspects of the hotel and most of my gripes are small and to be fair, we did not attempt to get any of the fixable things fixed). Some of this you'll have seen if you've read through the other reviews.

*no in room coffee maker!! What the heck? You have get dressed and go down to the restaurant to get a cup of coffee-lame.

*no free wi-fi. Also lame. You can go across the street to the bagel shop though.


*the ESPN channel was really fuzzy-tough on my husband on the days of NCAA games.

*there was something wrong with our phone. Twice during the first night it took itself off the hook and we got that lovely recorded message echoing through the room "if you'd like to make a call, please hang up and dial again . . ." and then we received calls from the front desk twice regarding service requests we never made. Not a big deal-just more odd than anything. I'm sure they would have fixed it had we mentioned it to anyone.

*no hot tub on the property

*the hot water in the tub in our room did not work

*room service was quick and friendly but WAY overpriced-and incomplete set up -ordered two pots of coffee they only sent one cup, for example.

*it would have been nice to have some more information on the Boston area, (restaurants, schedule of local events etc.) and hotel info in the room. The hotel info (such as a property map and spa info etc and some local info) and a Bpston Infomercial are all on the TV. Maybe I'm the only one who has a hard time getting my hands on the remote during March madness.

There you have it. . enjoy your stay-we sure did!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maui4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing