We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second visit to the Intercontinental Boston, this time for a working weekend in July. I arrived early and was allowed to check in with no trouble. Beautiful king room with all hookups needed for Wi-Fi - free for loyalty members who also receive a 2:00 PM check out. The staff is friendly and helpful. A big bowl of fresh fruit is kept well stocked on the front desk. The hotel is modern and stunning but at the same time seems intimate and low-key. Dinner at Miel on Friday and Saturday was outstanding. We enjoyed it on the terrace overlooking beautiful gardens and waterway. All wait staff members were excellent but waiter Stephen deserves special recognition. His knowledge of the menu and perfect suggestions for appetizers, entrees, and dessert prompted me to seek his advice for the whole meal on the second night of our stay. He did not disappoint! I'll never forget the Moules Frites - my two dining companions couldn't help but dig in to my succulent pile of tender mussels. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808foodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 808foodfan,

It is so great to read your review, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I can’t tell you how great it is to read all of your comments – from the fresh fruit at arrival and loyalty program recognition, to your dinner and service both nights in Miel. I hope you will return again soon for another great visit and of course, additional orders of Moules Frites!

All the best,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    874
    202
    73
    65
See reviews for
909
1,344
191
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were quite pleased with our first visit to the Intercontinental Boston. We arrived by water taxi on a perfectly gorgeous day and were greeted by desk attendant, Prazol, who could not have been kinder. We choose a "city view" room but might choose water view on the next trip. The accommodations were roomy enough and well appointed. The glass division between the bathroom and bedroom is, in a word, just WEIRD. This is the second hotel we have stayed in that had this feature. It might sound good in theory but it provides very little privacy. When I got up in the middle of the night to go to the restroom the bathroom light lit up the whole room and woke up my husband. NOT COOL. Trendy maybe but not cool. The hotel breakfast is ridiculously over priced and not particularly good. Let me recommend that you head around the corner to Sorrel (behind Trade) and get a yummy breakfast sandwhich or pastry for a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are actually not high enough to enjoy much of a city view.
See more room tips
Green Features: When I am on vacation I want a clean towel. End of story.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ScotchnSoda1,

Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. The water taxi is a great way to get here and I’m glad that the weather cooperated! I’m sorry that you did not like the window between the bedroom and bathroom and hope that it did not have too much of a negative effect on your visit. Our breakfast menu is competitively priced but I am glad to know that you enjoyed Sorelle bakery + café next door; we certainly agree that it is a great alternative to a sit down breakfast or brunch. Many thanks for providing your feedback; we are glad to have hosted you on your visit to Boston!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have stayed at the Intercontinental Boston many times and have never had a bad experience. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I love the city of Boston and the hotel is very centrally located to all areas and the property is just beautiful. I have even joined the IHG rewards club and that has been fantastic as well. The room service is very good, fast and portions are good. The rooms are modern and spacious. This is my girlfriends favorite hotel.

I do wish the pillows were a little firmer for my liking. Other than that the Intercontinental Boston is fantastic and I recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Boston. I know ill be back!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. either the water view or city view both sides are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrj c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear mrj c,

We greatly appreciate your review and feedback, thank you for continuing to stay with us again and again! Our staff is so glad to receive the compliments and I’m thrilled that you've been enjoying the benefits of our IHG Rewards Club. I would be more than happy to arrange for alternative pillows on the occasion of your next visit – please shoot me an email at the address below so that we can have that organized for you!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

As Australians travelling through the US, we booked the Intercontinental Boston at the last minute, on our way back to NYC from Cape Cod.

We have previously stayed at the Fairmont in Boston and are Four Seasons folk, but have been looking for an opportunity to try an InterContinental. Secured a great rate online and booked, then decided to stay two nights but couldn't get the same rate for the 2nd night. Our attendant on check-in was extremely polite and efficient and quickly discovered a better rate for us.

The hotel is large but not without soul and substance; our room was enormous and extremely well appointed. Huge bathroom. Great firmness to the bed. All the amenities you'd expect of a hotel of this caliber.
The gym is fantastic - plenty of cardio, weights and machine options.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel once (there are an abundance of dining options within walking distance) and unfortunately it was a little sub-par. There's a great coffee place/cafe around the corner on Congress St as an alternate - delicious barista coffee and plenty of light eat options.

Of particular mention was the service in general, but specifically on one occasion: I'd asked the Concierge if the kitchen did hot fudge sundae and, while it wasn't on the menu, he liaised with the chef to have one created and sent to our room; free of charge.

Outstanding.

9/10: recommend and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Marika_G,

Thank you for visiting us all the way from Australia! We are honored to have been the first InterContinental that you've stayed at and I’m so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. I appreciate all of your compliments about our amenities and quality of service – our concierge team is truly one of a kind. Many thanks for taking the time to review us and recommending us to others.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guezou
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed one night while using HOTWIRE. At first I was expecting another hotel so i was a bit disappointed but it was a huge surprise. First the people at the hotel were great : we were 4 so they gave us a bigger room, even adding another bed for our kid to sleep in. It was done very fast and without any hassle. Tired from a long plane ride we order Room service : great food and arrived exactly on time (not always the case !!). the swimming pool was very agreeable while we used it t 6 AM the mroning after and the bathrooms are very comfy.

So a great stay and willc ross my fingers to get it if using Hotwire again in Boston.

Keep on the good work !

a little sour note though : wifi is not free ..

Room Tip: try to have a room ficing the city even if you will face the fire department.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guezou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guezou,

What a wonderful review to read, thank you so much for the great feedback! I’m very happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us on this occasion and that you were pleasantly surprised with the hotel choice through Hotwire. While this can be a gamble, it is often a great way to experience alternative options. Please know that we do offer complimentary wi-fi for all members of IHG Rewards Club – our loyalty program which is free to join. Should you choose to book directly through the hotel you may earn points for your stay as well! Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Ron Bigos was our server for the night and he was amazing!!! So timely, so helpful, always attentive, very sweet - rock star!!!! He helped look after multiple guests that I was with, came bk quickly with drinks, so responsive and great!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana615wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Diana615wood,

Thank you for joining us at RumBa featuring Five-10 Waterfront the other night! I’ll be sure to pass along your wonderful compliments to Ron and his team; we greatly appreciate your review and hope you join us again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel and loved the convenience. No boston city traffic drive to get here its immediately off the highway of I90. Room was spacious, very large (48"?) flat panel TV. Room light and electrical outlets could have been better but the rooms are fine. Great sushi bar in hotel. Was there for business conference and meals served by hotel for breakfast and lunch were all very good, ESP boxed sandwiches. Thought parking fees were excessive (44 day) on top of room rate but maybe that's common for boston. For that price they should have had free charging stations for hybrid cars which they did not.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DenyseAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear DenyseAlbany,

Many thanks for your great review. We are fortunate to be in such a great location off the highway as you mentioned and especially to be situated on right on the Fort Point Channel. Our brand new 55-inch televisions have proven quite popular, thank you for pointing this out as well! Our culinary and banquets teams are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of your dining experiences throughout your visit; we appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing