We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of Boston”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at The InterContinental in June. Perfect place, from the condition of the room, staff, and outside restaurant. Every night we spent outside on the patio bar area enjoying the view of the river having a bite to eat and cocktails. First visit to Boston and the InterContinental but far from the last. Plan on returning in September for the Fall view.

Room Tip: Corner room with water view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good thoughts concerning the environment. Only will change bedding and towels when requested.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murf3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Murf3200,

Thank you for staying with us and providing such wonderful feedback. I especially appreciate your acknowledgement of our Green practices – this is quite important to us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the Fall; please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any specific requests or if I may be of any assistance with your arrangements.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    863
    200
    73
    65
See reviews for
892
1,318
189
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was upgraded to a suite with a fantastic view of the harbour. This room was over 800ft2 (80m2)
Huge living area two bathrooms.Bathrobes slippers and expensive toiletries!
Boston is an expensive city for hotels. At the time of my stay, rooms were over $500 a night.
The Intercontinental is definitely the place to stay if you have to spend a bit of money, although there are better deals here at quieter times ( I've seen $207 a night)
Breakfast on the terrace is a great experience- good views and great food- Try the eggs benedict with asparagus for $16.
I would definitely want to stay here again.
I asked for a late check out and due to availability, I was allowed to stay here until 4pm. Quality service!
The gym and pool are substantial and has plenty of equipment. Not like some hotels where these are afterthoughts or essentials for star ratings.
A great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ejp1968,

Thank you for the outstanding review. While we know that our rates are competitive, we are very proud to offer a wonderful value with top-notch service and amenities. I have shared your rave reviews of breakfast in Miel with our Chef and his team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, it is an honor to be considered one of the best hotels a guest has ever stayed in.

All the best,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Surprised my wife for a birthday weekend here,and ALL staff went out of their way to ensure the stay exceeded expectations. This was all led / coordinated by Inilta Monteiro, (Front Desk Supervisor) she is the BEST!!! Handwritten notes, personal calls to check up, champagne, the works...all because it was a special occasion. I can't recommend them enough, and I travel quite a bit domestically 2-3x month, and they are the top BY FAR! Short cab ride to anywhere, right on the water, we will be coming back for a long time for celebrations / get-aways.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Matt8181,

What a great sounding birthday surprise for your wife! Thank you for choosing InterContinental Boston for this special occasion, it is our absolute pleasure to help to make any occasion extra special and you were certainly in great hands with Inilta. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated by all members of our team and we look forward to seeing you as often as possible for your upcoming celebrations and getaways.

All the best,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is a 5-star InterContinental hotel, therefore we know what to expect: sleek public spaces, big rooms, comfy beds and all the extras and amenties. The difference here is the great staff, from the front desk, to the concierge to the room service.
Stayed during one of the winter storms that stopped Boston and the NE US for a couple of days, and staff managed to extend my stay, cancel my other IHG reservation. Got down with flu and the room service was very attentive and empathetic.
Very close to Boston South Station (which provides free shuttle from Logan Airport); a no-brainier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROS23AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Alvaro_R_G,

Thank you for the great review and extra star! I am very proud to read your review and know how professional and attentive our staff was throughout your visit. We know that travelling when you are sick can be tough and our team is here to alleviate as much of the burden as possible. I hope that you have the chance to visit in warmer weather and enjoy the beautiful weather that we are experiencing right now!

All the best,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Meets all the standards one might expect of an excellent five star hotel, but this hotel is unique by the friendliness and professionalism of its staff. Congratulions on finding these people and keep up the good work. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on June 21, and will definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in Boston. I have Gold Ambassador status, and had used points for the stay. We did get upgraded, but I had to ask for it at the front desk and remind them of my status. It took a while, but they did find the upgrade. The suite was large, and as I find at most Intercontinental hotels, the bed was wonderful. The rooms at this hotel are in good shape - the room we were in must have been renovated somewhat recently - or they just have a really good housekeeping staff. We paid for access to the concierge lounge - and it was completely worth it. The breakfast on the concierge floor included egg&cheese croissants, bacon, sausage, waffles, fresh squeezed juice, pastries, smoked salmon and delicious yogurt parfaits. Happy hour had a really nice selection gourmet cheeses & charcuterie as well as teriyaki salmon skewers and quesadillas and a few other things I can't remember. The fridge was stocked with complimentary water and soda. The customer service in the concierge lounge was the best in the hotel. It really made our stay memorable. Charles and his staff provide first class service. We ate at Miel "Brasserie Provencale" overlooking the river. The food was fabulous - we wished we had been able to eat there again during our stay. You do not want to miss this restaurant if you are staying at the hotel. Their Pistou soup was amazing and the quinoa risotto was very, very good. (Even their children's menu was impressive - with broccoli & corn fritters and Parmesan crusted chicken fingers. ) The hotel was elegant with a lovely bar area and they turned on the fireplace for us while we had dessert. There is a T stop about a block away - so you can easily get around Boston from the hotel. I look forward to staying in Boston just to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I feel like river or city view you can't go wrong with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed over the July 4th weekend and had an amazing experience. The staff was wonderful. The best deal ever is to join their Ambassador Loyalty program. It's worth the free one night room and room upgrade- our family of 4 was in a one bedroom HUGE suite for the regular room price. Club food was amazing and a definite cost-saver also (at night there's wine and cocktails!!) We had breakfast there everyday, as well as 'dinner' one night. And a few happy hours. Kids loved the pool. Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Try to overlook the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,162 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing