We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
783 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Right on the Charles River. Centrally located to many attractions and dining spots, and with walking distance to them. It's a bit pricy, but not terrible. Views are nice, whether it's the city, River or Boston Harbor. Rooms are very clean and staff is very helpful. Good room sizes and beds are comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,638
    850
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
877
1,301
187
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros: Fancy, nice staff, spa and gym, location

Cons: Over priced breakfast. Valet parking only, at $44 a night, they really should add self parking or at least 50% off for guests. Poor restroom ventilation and privacy, not very romantic to have an open toilet with no exhaust fan, especially in bean town. It echos throughout the room due to the sliding bathroom window that opens up above the bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Pete M,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I completely understand your concern with the parking options however we do not own or operate our garage and therefore are unable to provide a self-park option. We are certainly pleased to recommend nearby parking options that are more cost effective and not terribly far from the hotel as an alternative to the hotel garage.
We do know that the room design is not pleasing to everyone and I am sorry that this negatively affected your impression. I am glad to know you enjoyed our spa and gym facilities and hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
02360
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple months ago after running the Boston Marathon. The hotel is very nice, and has the best hotel gym I have ever seen (I have stayed at the Wynn Tower Suites, and most hotels in Boston, and the gym here is unmatched).

My problem with this property is the room layout. The t.v., which was kind of small for this type of property (32"?), was on furniture set perpendicular to the bed. This made t.v. viewing awkward.

More of a concern during our stay was that the bathroom (which was beautiful), was separated on one side from the head of the bed by a sliding opaque door. Late-night trips to the bathroom (a necessity after water + Gatorade + beer required by marathon running), results in too much sound and light for sleeping guests.

Other than that, I like the location (can be walked to from Back Bay in 15m, very close to T stop), the staff was very friendly and professional, and the room was well-appointed.

One last point: $9 for a Snickers? That is obscene!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jdunny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jdunny15,

Congratulations on running the Boston Marathon and thank you for staying with us during this momentous weekend. I’m very happy to know that you enjoyed our fitness room, facilities and the state of the art machines.

We actually just recently replaced all guest room televisions with 55-inch plasma screens! Hopefully you’ll have the chance to stay with us again soon and enjoy this great new feature.

While many people enjoy the window between the bedroom and bathroom, we do understand that it is not an ideal layout for all our guests. I’m sorry to hear this was the case for you and hope it did not cause too much of a problem.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I hope you are well recovered from the run by now!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is listed as the 15th ranked and they are getting ripped off. It is a great hotel near the tea party and a few blocks from the T. GOOD. Great clean hotel. We had a suite on the 9th floor. Really nice. BAD. Like msg premium hotels charges for internet and basically everything else.

This is a wonderful business or couples hotels family not so sure but really enjoyed it!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Newer intercontinental, one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I've ever seen. Great shower and tub, shower was roomy with good pressure. Beautiful location on the harbor across from the children's museum and Boston tea party museum. 2 minute walk to south station (commuter rail, subway access). Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Immediately attended to towel and minor maintenance requests, and offered free drinks for our trouble (the toilet was running). Keurig available, but no open refrigerator (only a mini bar with charge). Bright, open gym, with a surprising amount of of machines and equipment for a city hotel. Comfortable beds. Spacious desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear C C,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful review! Our team takes a lot of pride in our hotel and is at your service for any request, I’m so glad that this was evident throughout your visit. For future reference, our housekeeping team is always happy to provide an empty mini-fridge for personal use in your guest room; I hope the lack of room in the minibar was not too much of an inconvenience. Thank you so much for staying with us and please come back again!

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely spacious room with fabulous bathroom, only used the shower but the tub very deep. All areas of the a hotel were clean and staff were polite. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time but were allocated a room immediately. A short 10min walk to South station. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones3667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Took a family trip to Boston and this hotel met our needs nicely. Our room was not ready when we arrived 1/2 hour before check-in, but they kindly gave us the option of taking a city view room right away vs. waiting for the water view room we had reserved. The room itself was spacious and clean, with a nice bathroom, although the beds were not as comfortable as would be expected for this type of hotel. Although it is in the financial district, which itself is pretty much deserted on the weekend, we walked all over Boston from this location - the Quincy Market area was just 10 minutes away. It was also nice to walk along the water and sit outside. We did not try the food at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisNJMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConBos, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear MorrisNJMom,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Boston, I’m very glad that we met your family’s needs. We always do our best to accommodate early arrivals and I’m sorry that we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Thank you for your compliments to our facilities and location – we certainly hope to welcome you and your family back again the next time you’re in town.

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,049 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing