We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff. Modern place. Overall real nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rolla, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very nice staff. Modern place. Overall real nice”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night. It was very nice and I only had one complaint. The shower was lousy, it didn't get hot for 10 minutes and then not real hot. One towel had a big pinkish red stain on it. Seemed like poor quality control. Otherwise it was very nice

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zomzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear zomzie,

Many thanks for your recent review; I sincerely apologize for the hot water delay and the towel stain. Neither of these issues is representative of our standards; I hope you will stay with us again in the future so that we may exceed your expectations all around.

Best regards,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,940
    906
    208
    76
    66
See reviews for
991
1,411
194
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and I suppose that's what you are paying for! No free Wifi not enough towels or coffee for 3 people and parking was a little pricey considering how much you paid for the room. We also could not get our room as cool as we would have liked. Most hotels in this price range give you bottled water in your room ,bathrobes, turn down your bed and put candy on your pillow just nice little touches which you expect in this price category.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrea969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Petrea969,

We appreciate your taking the time to review InterContinental Boston; I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was less than perfect. Our housekeeping team is always happy to provide extra towels and coffee in your room upon request, I am sorry that there were not enough of these items in the first place. Additionally, the guest room thermostats go as low as 60 degrees and our engineering team does perform routine maintenance to ensure these are working properly. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, excellent view and room amenities are overshadowed by very fine service. From the desk, to bell staff, to bartenders and servers, kudos to the management team for creating a service-first culture.

Rooms are tastefully decorated and laid out in a comfortable and functional manner. The bathrooms are always stocked with thoughtful, helpful items: shoe polisher, q-tips, sewing kit, etc. TV had many premium choices, but was somewhat complicated to operate.

Conference services did a terrific job at our function, and I really noticed the little touches, such as removing trash from the tables during breaks, and replacing pens/pads. The restaurants and bars are excellent as well.

Room service was prompt, and somewhat pricey, but not as high as it could have been, striking a nice balance between convenience and cost.

Valet parking is $44/day, which is about average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJoelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed for a long weekend in Boston, and even though the hotel was fully booked & exceptionally busy, staff always had time to help me. My room was spacious, with an amazing bathroom, and plenty of towels/robes. Even though i had a city and not a river view, the view was pleasant to look at. The concierge and reception staff were super helpful. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Boston South station, and a pleasant walk into the tourist areas (Freedom Trail, North End etc) i even walked to the Back Bay area in around 30 minutes. The hotel is also close by the best Lobster Roll vendor in Boston- check my other review for the name!!

Thank you Intercontinental for another fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here using a free night certificate (part of having the Priority Club credit card) over Labor Day weekend. It was a very busy hotel, but check in was very quick and even early (around 1 PM).

Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the fire station, but we never noticed any noise (aside from the normal city noise). Room was very modern and clean. Really nice big bathroom with a full bathtub and a separate shower.

Bed was a little firm, but still a comfortable sleep. TV was a flat screen.

There was a fridge, but it was stocked as a mini bar....so there is no where to keep drinks. There is a gift shop downstairs though (overpriced as always) or a CVS a few blocks away.

The best thing is the location....right out the back of the hotel there is a nice walkway along the river. You are also only about 1-2 miles from Faneuil Hall and the North End. We took cabs and it was $8 to the North End and about $6 to Faneuil.

Also very close to the airport at about a 10 minute drive (on Labor Day though, so little traffic).

Valet parking was $45 (ouch!).

Overall this was a great hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was my second stay at this property, and it provided the same, consistent service and ambiance. Check-in was polite, professional, and easy, with the bellman, Mohammed, being especially helpful and friendly. He was so gracious in fact, that he had chocolate covered strawberries and a fruit plate sent to our room. This was truly a wonderful surprise! Additionally, although we were facing the fire station again, there was not a problem with noise. Actually the rooms are very quiet and spacious, and the large soaking tub is particularly relaxing. The location of the hotel is well situated, making it easy to walk to the North End, Chinatown, and the Boston Common area. In addition, it is easy to hop on the T, and get to Fenway or the museums. We will definitely choose the Intercontinental again when staying in Boston.

Room Tip: This hotel is also pet friendly, for canines under 25 pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelingtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went to Boston this past weekend for a Red Sox game and stayed one night at this hotel with my 2 children and husband. We were first greeted by the bellhop, Steve, who was wonderfully infomative and patient, and worked tirelessly to get a cab for many of us who needed one to get to the Red Sox game. We should have just parked next to Fenway, as it would have been cheaper, and perhaps faster than taking a cab, which was $15 each way.

Our room was spacious, but I was disappointed that there were double beds instead of queen sized beds in the room. Besides which the mattress was very firm and uncomfortable, making for a crappy nights sleep for me. I couldn't have stayed there for another night.

Pros: It is beautiful and has all the high end amenities. It's located in the financial district and is close to many attactions including the Childrens Museum, Aquarium and Quincy Market/Faniul Hall. The front desk staff were courteous and efficient. We valet parked the car ($45 per night!)

Cons: The beds

Room Tip: We stayed in room 729.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear JDandkids,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback about our staff and I appreciate your recognition of our front door team.

I am, on the other hand, sorry to hear of your disappointment with the beds; all double rooms do have the standard size double beds as described on our booking outlets. We know that a restful night’s sleep is important and I apologize if this information was not communicated clearly prior to booking your reservation in this room type.

We appreciate your choosing InterContinental Boston and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager, InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,776 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing