We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived and had drinks and appetizers on the patio. Great place to people watch, and the highlight of our stay.
I still can't get over the fact that these hotels charge what they charge for the room, and still want to collect a 12.99 Internet fee. Just charge me 20$ more for the room, and pretend to give me a free Internet connection.
Location is great, but I still prefer the Marriott's on Long Warf for the things I like to explore. The Intercontinental is across from the children Museum.

Room Tip: We asked or a corner room and got it. Great floor to ceiling windows, great view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Besides changing sheets and towels if you ask for it, they don't seem to be doing much else. We brought bikes and had to keep them in our car, for there was no bike rack in sight. (And tip the valet every time we had to get and return the bikes, for we could not walk them to our car. Annoying.)
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,941
    906
    208
    76
    66
See reviews for
991
1,412
194
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on memorial weekend of last year my husband and I for our anniversary and the location couldn't be beat. The hotel it's self is beautiful the rooms were excellent. We walked all of Boston from the hotel and back it was awesome. The bathtubs are to die for after a long day of sight seeing and walking. The check was ok nothing special just handed our keys and that's it but that's all worth the hotel, the room and location, location, location. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hajar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment you walk in the welcome atmosphere & friendly staff embrace you. The location is amazing, overlooking a beautiful park on one side & a channel of water on the other. The rooms are perfectly clean and well designed. There is a great bar on the first floor as well as a sushi restaurant. The outdoor patio/bar is a nice place to hang out on a sunny day. The spa offers a large selection of services & a great staff. There is an excellent health club. You can't go wrong with this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just finished a five night stay at this hotel and loved it! The purpose of our trip was to drop our son off at college so the first two nights we spent in a room with two (small) double beds and the last three nights in a king room with a view of the Tea Party ship. The staff went above and beyond to be helpful. When we changed rooms my husband forgot his coat in the closet and they were able to track it down and deliver it to our new room within minutes. The area around the hotel is nice and within walking distance of T stops and the North End. The only negative thing about our stay was the price to park the car. We decided to return our rental car after the first two days and relied on walking and the train to get where we need to go. Luis at the concierge desk and Humberto the bellman were so nice to us and gave us helpful information when we needed it. Thank you Intercontinental - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumbsuptour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trail, BC
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for a conference on August 17-20......great location and a beautiful hotel. Boston is a very beautiful, busy, vibrant town. We were able to walk everywhere....to Little Italy to the north with its many great Italian restaurants and bakeries, to The Quincy market and further up to the shopping area. South station for the subway is just down the street and it can get you where ever you need, including the airport. We took the subway to Fenway Park to watch the Red Sox kick the Yankees....that was an experience I was told I just had to experience and right from the the subway ride to the game, it was something for a girl from a small BC town!! The hotel sits on the Harbour and has a beautiful out door sitting area to sit and enjoy the views. They have a nice restaurant that we had breakfast at....the staff was a little confused as we had vouchers for breakfast and everyday we had to explain to them how they work. Glad we had vouchers as prices were high. The lounge in the main lobby area was also quite pricey and the young lady at the bar was more interested in hitting on a young man then serving us our expensive drinks. The hotel rooms are first class though and we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

From check in until check out, this hotel delivers nothing promised. They did figure out how to split up the 4 rooms I had into separate reservations. And the coffee in the morning was at cost, even for Ambassador members. Odd, but I watched some people pay 2.99 for a cup at the restaurant (seriously?), and some zero. Made no sense to me at all. I know, you can make it in your room, but is that even an excuse? Also, if more than one of you is an Ambassador member, make your own reservations. This hotel won't allow the second Ambassador member to be upgraded. For not being sold out, this seems a bit petty. Oh, and if you book with points, expect the worse room in the house...guaranteed. We had one room I got with points and it was 3 hallways away and facing a very nice woman answering her phone in her office. The bar was hoppin' all day, but getting a drink at night took 30-45 minutes, mostly because I wasn't female showing cleavage. (I did, however, leave a 30 dollar tip on a 100 dollar tab, perhaps the bartender Marshall will get the hint). The lobby is lavish and large, the rooms were solid - heavy doors, comfy beds, flat screen tv (yes, some hotels I've recently stayed in don't have them), decent view, etc. They didn't honor the upper floor request (floor 6 isn't an upper floor when there are more than 20 floors), but they did allow us to check in 2 hours prior to normal check in. Hmmmm, this review is coming off a bit negative and perhaps it should. I'll stay here again, perhaps, but then there are some other wonderful hotels in Boston I've not tried and the Marriott Long Wharf was just as friendly and upgraded me to the club level without a fuss. Perhaps it's time to say farewell to the Boston Intercontinental and say hello to the Marriott of Nine Zero again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for here. Pay with points, you get a room with small windows and facing Gladys...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were only there 1 night, so couldn't help out with the no-wash of the towels, etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, General Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear jacksondc,

Thank you for the recent review; I appreciate that you do still love our hotel, despite the issues encountered.
It is important that Ambassadors make their own reservations, as benefits are not transferable from one guest to another. I regret that this caused any inconvenience to you and your accompanying guests throughout your stay.
Please also know that we aim to allocate all rooms based on what is requested at the time of booking and I sincerely apologize that the room you booked on points did not meet your expectations.
The service which you experienced in RumBa is certainly not up to our standard; this matter has been reviewed with the management team. We appreciate that you will consider staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back for a great stay.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager, InterContinental® Boston
Ian.Pullan@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay in this hotel and the reason i chose this hotel was the proximity to our office. It is not that close to more popular shopping sites (copley, prudential) but quite convenient to go to south station, walking to downtown crossing, quincy market and north end (italian district). For any convenient breakfast places, you also have to walk a bit to get there.

I like the rooms, its spacious, clean and the staff are friendly. I enjoyed my stay here (both in feb and aug, 5 days each).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,890 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,776 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,324 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing