We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stylish and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 24, 2013

1st stay at an InterContinental. Beautiful entrance, super friendly and quick check in. The doors to the rooms are a dark rich wood. The entrance to my room was cool light tile - like marble. The room has a desk facing the windows. There is a lovely chaise at the foot of the bed, a nice dresser with a flat screen tv. The bed was beautifully made BUT the mattress felt old. Whe you sat on the side it smushed down. Sleeping on it was comfortable enough but not as luxe as the room prices would make you expect. I love the big bathroom with the pass through window to the room. I probably wouldn't like that feature if I was staying with another person - not enough privacy for the toilet. There is a huge soaking tub and a glass shower, even a phone by the toilet. Lots of nice touches and stylish. It was a very quiet business week stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Palm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,521 - 3,527 of 4,729 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This Hotel was nice enough. It was in a good location. The restaurants/bars inside the hotel seemed to have a good ambiance. As far as all that goes, the hotel was great.

Now on to the bad stuff. The bed was less than to be desired, but that could have just been just my room. I didn't expect parking to cost $45 per night. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, so that was a $90 surprise. When I tried to go online, I found out that it would cost $12-$16 for internet access. For a hotel that costs $200-$300 per night, I wouldn't expect to have to pay extra for internet access. InterContinental is not exactly a cheap hotel. Having to pay an additional $100 or so unexpectedly left me feeling a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear James G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to note that you liked our location and you found our hotel to be nice.

However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our beds. Regarding our rates, we always ensure to remain competitive in the area, I am sorry if you found our rates to be high.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A lovely classy hotel with great facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic gym, a bar with character (unlike those in many other hotels) and very convenient to South Station and the restaurant area near the river. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our deluxe king room at the Boston Intercontinental was distinguished by several modern touches. The lighting options far exceeded anything I have ever experienced in a hotel room and were much appreciated. The chaise at the foot of the bed was even more comfortable than the arm chair and the deep tub was luxury defined. Even though we technically had no view, we could see the park across Atlantic Avenue from our room. We purchased our room via Hotwire so the value was outstanding. The hotel is an easy walk to the contemporary art museum and the Boston Aquarium.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, from June 30th until July 3rd. The location of the hotel was amazing, right next to the river and only a ten to fifteen minute walk to Downtown Boston and Quincey Market.
The rooms were spacious and the beds really comfortable. Our bathroom had a large bath and walk in shower.
Only down side to this, and some other Intercontinental Hotels I've stayed at is that they charge for wifi!! Come on Intercontinental, you can do better than that in these modern times!
Overall, a brilliant hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen5465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location to the Financial area and the South Station train. The hotel rooms were very nice with alot of amenities. The conciege people where very helpful and they have a great area behind the hotel outside for cocktails and overlooking the water. We fond some nice pubs not far from hotel with the drinks being much more reasonable than the bar in the hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent final 2 nights of our holiday in Boston here & it was a high note to finish on. Room (Junior Suite) was spacious & Club Continental buffet breakfast & snacks / drinks etc. were good quality. Hotel has great feel about it and wonderful to sit outside & relax at rear of hotel by the river. Good location for walk alongside riverfront to Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market & not far from city centre/common. Boston is a great walking city & feels safe going about town. My wife had a pedicure & highly recommends Josefina (the Nail Technician) in the hotel. Temperature in Boston was 30C therefore swim in pool at hotel was great way to cool down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,004 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $230 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing