We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well....”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Check your incidentals. They tried to hit me with a three figure mini-bar bill, but I never touched the thing.
And use cash at the lounge - I took a party for after-work food and drinks. Little under 400 bucks. Added a 100 dollar tip. Next statement showed they hit my card for another 100 later that evening.
Big, new ('07 ?), pretty but no hot tub? A big oversight in my book.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie555L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,633
    850
    199
    73
    65
See reviews for
876
1,299
187
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

No detail is overlooked. When you enter you are greeted by the most delicious of smells I am not sure if it is the beautiful floral arrangements or if the hotel just smells that great. The Front desk staff is efficient with your check in and very polite and helpful. The rooms are lovely, the bed was so comfortable I wanted to spend the hole week there and the rooms are really interesting. The hotel staff from the very friendly and helpful maids, to the doorman who got us a private car service for a quick ride to the North End so we didn't have to wait for a cab and then he returned to bring us back, to the management staff who we watched closely monitor someone in the bar who was getting a little loud. ( they did this with a great deal of poise while still making sure nothing got out of hand.) The management even walks around tidying up the lobby it is definitely all hands on deck here, everything is beautiful and still very relaxing. The GUEST REALLY DO COME FIRST! Check out was a breeze and of all the hotels I have stayed in while in Boston by far this is my favorite. Great place, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: There all good rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very much a business hotel but with good public spaces on the ground floor, including a great terrace/bar overlooking the harbor.

Room was nice with all essentials and plenty of space, but the check in staff and concierge staff were particularly upbeat, friendly and efficient.

Will stay there again

Room Tip: Get harbor view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed this weekend for one night. Check in and check out was very smooth. It is in walking distance to the Acquarium, Children's Museum and Boston Tea Party Attraction. The room was exceptionally clean, amenities fine. Only draw back - you have to pay for water and wi-fi. The buffet breakfast was ok but could be a lot better for $25. I had an early dinner with my daughter at the Miel restaurant. I had the short ribs which melted off the bones. Staff was great. The Bell person - Belkal was fabulous. He was so helpful and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again! a 5 minute walk from South Street Station and Amtrak

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We normally stay at Nine Zero when we visit Boston, and I wish we had this time. However, we were running a race, and wanted to be near the start/finish line, so we chose this hotel.

What a mistake. When we arrived, there were dirty towels in the bathroom, and it was obvious it had not been cleaned. It took five calls over the course of five hours to get someone up to remove the towels, and we were not moved to a new room, instead left with a bathroom that had obviously not been cleaned properly. I even spoke with someone at the front desk, who promised that the problems would be fixed by the time we returned from dinner. Needless to say, they were not.

Beyond that, the room was dingy - the carpet was frayed and stained, the comforter and duvet had a musty smell to them, and the room itself was unimpressive. There was no wall between the bathroom and bedroom, which were instead separated by a thin sliding glass door. Apparently, the designers thought people would like to watch TV from the toilet. This lack of wall has the unintended and very inconvenient effect of lighting up the entire room when someone is in the bathroom at night, which is obviously very inconvenient if you are not staying alone.

I'm posting a review because, unfortunately, there was no manager available when I checked out, or via email through the website, to whom I could address my concerns. All in all, avoid this property, it certainly does not meet the standards one normally expects from an Intercontinental property. Stay at Nine Zero, or XV Beacon, and be happy you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear airrmann, 



Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service challenges you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to bring your disappointing experience to our attention and are sorry we did not respond appropriately to your complaints. The experience you have described in no way reflects the high standards of cleanliness and service that we strive to achieve. I have shared your comments with our hotel management team and we are diligently working on ways to improve in these areas. If you would like to discuss your concerns in further detail, please email me at your convenience at michael.ditterline@ihg.com. We appreciate your candid feedback and hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit Boston. 



Sincerely,

Michael Ditterline
Director of Rooms, InterContinental Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights. He had a conference to attend & I was going to enjoy the sights. The hotel lobby is fresh & modern and our room was surprisingly large, well appointed & best of all, quiet. The staff at the hotel is very friendly & attentive. The concierge was helpful in answering a number of questions regarding various sights I was planning to see. He also provided me with his business card in case additional questions came up during my daily "walkabouts" of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel for the business traveler or couples.

Room Tip: Request a room high up & ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Comfortable rooms with an incredible bathroom. I would recommend the hotel without reservation.

My only complaint is what happened to turn down service? Fresh towels and a quick run through the room are an important component to a truly five star hotel. This is my second experience in a week in a top notch hotel where there wasn't turn down. Hotels must be starting to cut it out. Too bad, we all lose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cougrrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,823 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,505 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,038 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing