We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with great views of the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Twickenham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with great views of the river”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, it's perfectly placed for easy access to attractions and has great views of the waterfront. Staff are very helpful. I stayed in a junior suite with my wife and daughter which came with access to the lounge all if which was to a very high standard

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,765
    874
    202
    73
    65
See reviews for
909
1,345
191
1,106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I ran a 450 person conference here so my feedback is based on that experience and feedback from delegates.

This is a 'smart' hotel, with prices to match.

Food is decent, though uninspired. Service generally very good with some glaring exceptions - my room wasn't cleared after a private dinner for three days despite asking many times. Not suitable for a conference that might want to offer guests WiFi, the tech people are clueless.

If you work for a large corporation, have a generous expense account, don't want any interaction with the town you are staying in and want somewhere central, this might be an option if everything else is booked.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LateBookMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear LateBookMark,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service received was less than expected, and prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesseling, Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm currently at the hotel for the second time this year and am somewhat unhappy once again - it seems they are a totally unorganized bunch.

Last time when I stayed here they failed on such simple tasks as providing me with a price-list for the mini-bar that was missing in my room or even giving me a price for the two items I intended to have over the phone (because everyone up to the MoD was unable to find out the prices) and argued with me on saturday morning that saturday is not part of the weekend so the "weekend buffet" at Miel was not available for a reason.

Today I received a room right in the middle of a large party attending a wedding - and right next door to what seemed like the bride's and groom's suite. Given that we just came in from Europe the other day being witness of their after-party is not our favourite past-time, and when we called the MoD about being thoroughly woken up by the proceedings next door the security sent up admonished them to be more silent - just followed minutes later by several people from room-service delivering more alcoholic beverages that refueled the event... And on a seperate note: running out of several beverages in the Club lounge one hour into the cocktail-hour also seems like a not acceptable organizational flaw as well.

So it seems that getting their act together and provide a flawless experience for ALL guests is not the key competency of the hotel. Other than that I think it's a nice place, but when such flaws spoil the experience, I'll probably try something else next time.

Room Tip: Ask at check-in if they hold any large function that evening and ask your room to be as far as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear jwlaura,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked this hotel using the priceline bid feature and secured it for $240. It was the perfect place to stay for a girls weekend. We had 3 rooms and the hotel was kind enough to put us on the same floor.

We checked in during the lockdown and the hotel made us all very comfortable. The staff, despite many of whom were working extended shifts, were calm and welcoming - from the valet, bellmen, front desk staff.

Fortunately the lockdown ended Fri evening, but the restaurant we were supposed to dine in was closed as a result so we dined at Miel. I admit, we were all skeptical since hotel restaurants are often disappointing - but we were very pleased. Most of the people in our group are food obsessed and we enjoyed the meal greatly.

The hotel lobby bar was a nice place for after dinner drinks. There were lots of people both nights and the servers and bartenders were friendly.

Rooms - the softest sheets... love. Comfortable beds. Good bathroom.
Gym - my friends used it and thought it was great

The location is fine - nothing in boston is really that far.

I'll happily stay here again! And if the lockdown had gone on all weekend, I am confident we would have been very comfortable. Thanks to the IC Boston for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdiddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatou, France
Level Contributor
232 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

In this Boston variation you will find the confort of what you can expect from a high end chain of hotels. Not less but not more. That means nothing spectacular.
Good points are:
- well located, at walking distance from major things to do and see
- well furnished
- clean
- quiet (even if just in front of the fire department)
Regrets:
- poor and expensive restaurants
- impersonal welcome and stay

Helpful?
Thank Mordicus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks whilst on business. Excellent friendly staff and the food was of a very high standard. Great location for a walk into the city centre for the standard shopathon when in the states.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the Boston Fire Service unless you want intermediate wake up calls from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here last summer after booking through Hotwire and finding a wicked deal! I was in awe when I walked into the hotel. The marble columns, gold trimmed elevators, location and room! It was the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwhit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,634 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing