We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel on the waterfront” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is very well located between the financial district and the new seaport district. The nearest subway station is only two blocks away and if your a good walker most of the Freedom's trail landmark are within walking distance.

Our room was spacious, stylish and confortable with a nice "méridienne" couch, a window facing desk, individual reading lights on each side of the bed and a nice sliding panel between the bathroom and the bedroom. The bathroom features both a shower and a bathtub. The sliding panel is very nice but might be a problem if someone has to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night as it is not lightproof.

On the "green" side, the room is fully equipped with high end LED bulbs.

The staff was available and competent.

My only concern is on the internet connection. This is not unique to this hotel but while most motels offer complementary internet I really don't understand why 4 or 5 stars hotel like this one are charging nearly $15 for an internet connection. Although I had to connect two different devices (laptop and smartphone) and when I connected the second device I didn't know wether or not I would be charged for the second device (the captive portal page is the same).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,297
    789
    188
    72
    63
See reviews for
769
1,173
173
910
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Despite paying over 1000.00 for a two night stay, this hotel gives you nothing for free. Internet $15.00 a day. Receive two amazon packages at the hotel: $9.00 each. I have never been charged for that before.... Tiny bag of M&Ms in minibar $8.00. No free coffee maker in the room, or anything else. Compare this to what you get at the middle tier hotels: free internet, free receipt of packages, free coffee in the room, and often breakfast buffett in the morning, inexpensive meals at the restaurants and snacks at front desk... I am sick of being soaked, the hilton is a bit of a rip off, but this hotel is worse. will never stay at this hotel again.

Room was good, but nothing special, except lots of marble in the bathroom. Bed very firm, thin mattress, westin and hilton hotels have much better bed quality.

Room Tip: Try different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at InterContinental Boston and are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do provide coffee makers in our guest rooms and apologize if this item was missing. I will be sharing your comments regarding our charges at the next hotel quality meeting. Although we are disappointed to hear that your stay was less than perfect, your feedback gives us the opportunity to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

These rooms are perfect. Concierge service was outstanding especially Louis and Jessica. They truly know what service is all about. Location couldn't have been any better. The bar was a perfect place to get a delicious cocktail and fantastic food. I will definitely stay there next time I am in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed over during hurricane Sandy!!! Staff exceptionally helpfull when it came to having to stay an extra night and reschedule travel arrangements. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Taxi service and shuttle service readily available. Close to South Station which was very handy and close to tourist info spots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed there for a few days in a conference. Nice, clean and spacious rooms, spotlessly clean. My only complain would be that the wireless internet was dreadful. Sadly that isn't uncommon.

Good food, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at InterContinental Boston. While we are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, cuisine and staff, we cannot overlook the challenges you experienced with our Wi-Fi and apologize for any inconvenience. I will be sharing your comments with our IT team at the next hotel quality meeting. We appreciate your feedback and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
221 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved the modern look of the property and the room. The location was close to everything we wanted to see in that par of Boston. I had planned on trying to use the water taxi from the airport to the hotel, but after waiting 15 minutes, no bus came by our terminal, so we took a taxi instead. The taxi turned out to be less expensive anyway.
The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint, and it's minor, is the sliding window between the bedroom and the bathroom. Nice concept, but if someone got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, it pretty much lit up the whole place. Would have preferred solid panels.
We didn't eat there but did have a few drinks at the bar. Nice atmosphere there as well.
Overall, if I could get the same rate I got on this trip, I'd make it my first choice in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at InterContinental Boston. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

All in all a nice hotel. Kind of generic, but the rooms are a decent value with prompt towel service, good paperview selections, and polite staff. Might stay here again if we wanted to check out the north end again, but otherwise would try another spot in Boston

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKO60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Boston and hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing