We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Hotel in Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

These rooms are perfect. Concierge service was outstanding especially Louis and Jessica. They truly know what service is all about. Location couldn't have been any better. The bar was a perfect place to get a delicious cocktail and fantastic food. I will definitely stay there next time I am in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,558
    836
    198
    73
    65
See reviews for
849
1,277
185
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed over during hurricane Sandy!!! Staff exceptionally helpfull when it came to having to stay an extra night and reschedule travel arrangements. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Taxi service and shuttle service readily available. Close to South Station which was very handy and close to tourist info spots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed there for a few days in a conference. Nice, clean and spacious rooms, spotlessly clean. My only complain would be that the wireless internet was dreadful. Sadly that isn't uncommon.

Good food, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at InterContinental Boston. While we are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, cuisine and staff, we cannot overlook the challenges you experienced with our Wi-Fi and apologize for any inconvenience. I will be sharing your comments with our IT team at the next hotel quality meeting. We appreciate your feedback and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved the modern look of the property and the room. The location was close to everything we wanted to see in that par of Boston. I had planned on trying to use the water taxi from the airport to the hotel, but after waiting 15 minutes, no bus came by our terminal, so we took a taxi instead. The taxi turned out to be less expensive anyway.
The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint, and it's minor, is the sliding window between the bedroom and the bathroom. Nice concept, but if someone got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom, it pretty much lit up the whole place. Would have preferred solid panels.
We didn't eat there but did have a few drinks at the bar. Nice atmosphere there as well.
Overall, if I could get the same rate I got on this trip, I'd make it my first choice in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at InterContinental Boston. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and atmosphere. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

All in all a nice hotel. Kind of generic, but the rooms are a decent value with prompt towel service, good paperview selections, and polite staff. Might stay here again if we wanted to check out the north end again, but otherwise would try another spot in Boston

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKO60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Boston and hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel staff welcomed my daughter with a stuffed lobster(plush, not to eat, though great Lobster rolls can be found at James Hook's 1/2 block North on Atlantic) - made her day and the beginning of a wonderful stay for us. The location of the Intercontinental Boston is ideal for families: across from the childrens museum, 5 minute walk to the aquarium and 10 minutes to Quincy Market and North End Italian restaurants. Everything worth seeing and doing in Boston is easily accessible by foot or T from this great location. Love what the city has done with the Rose Kennedy Greenway.
Rooms were surprisingly spacious for non-suites.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffChing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review. We love hosting families and are delighted that we were able to make your daughter's stay memorable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My one night stay was okay until the morning -- when there was no hot water. I let the shower run for about 10 mins -- as I had a morning meeting, I could no longer wait for the water to get hot or to get the hotel to fix it - so I persevered through the cold morning shower. An unfortunate way to end a stay in a lovely hotel. The worst part of the experience was the complete lack of concern by the hotel staff when I checked out -- the opinion of the woman at the front desk was that it was my fault for not waiting longer for the water to warm up -- but she would notify engineering regardless although clearly, in her opinion, it was my issue -- not the hotels. No apology from her at all -- disappointing given the quality of service I expect from Intercontinental. You have a lot of choices in Boston -- you can do better than this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAW237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies for the service challenges you experienced during your recent stay at InterContinental Boston. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this incident to our attention and are sorry we did not respond appropriately to your complaint. While our engineering team is looking into this issue, I would love to find out more about the conversation you had at the front desk. Can you please call me at your convenience at 617.217.5052 to discuss your experience in further detail? You are a valued guest and we hope we are able to restore your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing