We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel is located by the waterfront, a block away from the South Station Commuter Rail. It was super easy for us to get from Boston to Harvard Square Cambridge using the red line.

It was not as central to sites in Boston as I would like but still walkable - a little over a mile for both Faneuil Hall & Newbury Street.

The room was beautiful, nicely decorated with lots of room, floor to ceiling windows with great views.

The only weird thing was that there was a big window above the headboard that opened to the bathroom. Even with the sliding window closed, there was still a one inch gap at the bottom - so that you can see into the bathroom and can hear everything going on.

I was with my husband, so it didn't bother me but if I was staying there with a friend, I guess I would be self conscious using the bathroom ;)

Note: Internet is not free. Parking is 40$/night

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Boston! All of our employees work as a team to create the perfect, seamless visit for our guests. Our hotel’s prime location truly enhances our guests’ stay in Boston, and we are glad that you decided to explore the area! Next time you visit, stop by our Concierge for great ‘in the know’ tips about Boston. It is always great to hear that our guest had an amazing stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    863
    200
    73
    65
See reviews for
892
1,318
189
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I'm part of the Ambassador program, so when I was upgraded to the 12th floor, I was excited, until I opened my blinds to see that I was looking at a brick wall. No big deal, didn't come to sit in my room. Front desk was very friendly, and helpful. My trip was cut short and they worked with me so I wouldn't have to pay for an extra night.

The worse experience was at Rumba. By no means waste your time here. We were not dressed up, so I guess I looked as if I couldn't afford to sit at their bar. I ended up tweeting INCBOS to tell them about the rude service, never was given a reply. However, if you tweet about arriving, they reply immediately. Overall, good stay, just stay out of their bar and you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Nice hotel, walking distance to Ouincy Market, Freedom Trail, Harbour, and North End.
The rooms are well appointed and very clean. We travelled as a family of four with two teens. Our room had two queen beds, plenty of space and a large bathroom with a walk in shower, soaking tub and vanity mirror.
We booked on Hotwire and stayed for a very good rate.
We ate breakfast at Panera bread. When you exit the building go left a couple of blocks.
We enjoyed parking the car down stairs and walking to everything for the three days of our stay.
The pool is located on the second floor, at the spa and gym area. We found it not to be too kid friendly. It's more of a lap pool than a kids on vacation pool.
If you have not stayed at a four and a half star before, check this out. It was a highlight of our vacation! Be sure to do the Boston Gliders Segway tour. It's a fun way to see the city!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keswickdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our sophisticated, elegant guestrooms are the perfect fusion of beauty and practicality; a place where you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We are delighted you got a chance to visit our spa. Upon your next visit, hopefully you will have time to indulge in the calming atmosphere and various services we have to offer. We are thrilled that you had an amazing time on your family vacation at our hotel, and we hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

First Time to Boston and we had a great time
Stayed at the InterConti and it was great. Nice suite with great views and located within walking distance to everything you want to see in Boston. I would pay and do the Club Level if you can, free internet and at least you get a great breakfast before you explore this great city. Eveyone was great, a few hiccups but what do you expect. Some weird rules about their outdoor patio area and a LA attitude bar tender, but all in all a great hotel. Worth going and taking the family. Also a fantastic gym

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificAndyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay with us. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as the New England Aquarium and Faneuil Hall. If you return during the warmer months the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is delightful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I joined two friends who had traveled from Australia. We stayed for one night as 3 adults and had requested, via Hotwire.com, 2 double beds. That request was not honored by IHBoston. The desk stated, when we pressed for more information, that the room was confirmed but not the number of beds. They could not accommodate us, only offering the rollaway bed. They tried to charge for the rollaway bed but my friends were insistent that we not be charged.
I was very upset that my friends were upset by the hotel's obvious condescension toward us regarding our Hotwire relationship.

Intercontinental Hotel Boston does NOT meet the standards of a four or five star hotel. The water pressure in the sink and shower was barely minimal, the hair dryer was old, with duct tape on it. There were no flowers in the lobby, poor lighting, unhappy staff.

My father was CEO of Intercontinental Hotel Corp. for twenty years, before Pan Am had to sell the profitable subsidiary. I've been lucky to stay in a number of IHC hotels over the years.

Entering IH Boston felt like stepping into the dark ages. There was no life, sparkle, dignity, elegance and in fact, it felt as though there was no manager at the wheel.
I was disheartened and deeply disappointed on behalf of my traveling Aussie friends. I had gone to the hotel and prepared to toast the memory of my father who passed away 8 years ago. Instead, I felt ashamed of Intercontinental Hotel Boston, on behalf of my father and all the hard work he and his staff put into making the hotel chain the best in the world.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank sheeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We got a deal of $150 for this room through Priceline. Pretty room, more modern, with a window (closable) from the bedroom into the bathroom. The room and bathroom were spacious. We had a great view of the city, with the Boston Fire Dept. right across from us. My sister and her husband had a harbor view, but nothing spectacular to be honest. If you have a choice, choose the city view. The concierge was very helpful with dinner choices. The lobby is pretty. There is a back "Patio" where you can eat and have drinks. It was nice along the water, but the service was sooooo incredibly slow just for drinks, kind of ridiculous in fact. Still, I recommend. Comfy bed, nice big TV, very very clean. The AC wasn't as cool as I would have liked though. Exercise room is very big and nice equipment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our concierge agents are dedicated to keeping our guests “in the know” and to provide insider knowledge of the city. Next time you visit us, be sure to check in with them again to discover new insider tips on Boston. We are truly sorry for the challenges that you encountered during your visit on our patio. Our hotel staff strives to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations. Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements. We appreciate your review and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

stayed 1 night and we were very impressed.Our room was beautiful.we will go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belladonna802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to maintain our facilities and are glad you enjoyed our stylish, modern guestrooms featuring state-of-the-art technology and lifestyle enhancing amenities. We are glad you enjoyed each detail we put into ensuring a relaxing and wonderful stay for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,162 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing