We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TV & Movie Tour”
Review of On Location Tours

On Location Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Boston Movie Mile Walking Tour
Ranked #49 of 142 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On Location Tours is a one-of-a kind sightseeing company specializing in TV and movie location tours. The bus tour of Boston TV & Movie Sites visits more than 40 locations including sites from The Town, Good Will Hunting, Boston Legal, Cheers, and Mystic River. The Boston Movie Mile walking tour around Boston Commons visits more than 25 locations from movies and TV shows such as Good Will Hunting, The Departed, Ted, Cheers and many others.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TV & Movie Tour”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Awesome! Our tour guide was the best! He was so excited and had great facts to share. It would be great if they had a TV & Movie bar crawl.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You gotta book this tour”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Being toured by MG was like hanging out with your BFF from college back in her hometown. She was incredibly personable, funny, knowledgeable and overall entertaining to be with. This tour packs in a lot of Boston's major sites in a short time. There's many photo opportunities and even time to grab a beer. I learned so much about Boston, but stuff that I haven't learned in school - Did you know the city provides a tax credit to major studios to film and therefore the city has found an surge in movie production projects? I recommend booking this tour for your first day of your vacation. It's super fun and you'll see the parts of city that you'll want to spend more time in later (and the parts you thought you did but now don't after you saw it.) It will help you plan the rest of your vacation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson Everett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Boston Movie Tour”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This tour was pretty good. It gave you some history about Boston and was easy to get around when we stopped. I gave our tour guide some other movies that they might want to look up so that they can continuely keep it fresh. The stops at the two bars were good as well. I would suggest that if you did not eat before the tour to make sure you have a snack. The tour runs from 11-2.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank harvey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TV & Movie site tour of Boston”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I always take these TV/movie tours and this one did not disappoint. Great tour, great tour guide (He claimed his name was David A. but he looked a lot like Matt Damon to us). Very entertaining guide, very knowledgeble of the points of interest and made us all feel very comfortable. Great trivia guy too!! We recommend the tour and even more so if you can get David to show you around. The bus driver was a cool dude as well, telling us great stories of when he was growing up there while we made stops to snap pics or have a beer at the same bar from the Departed. BZ.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good times and info”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We really enjoyed the walking tour of TV and Movies. We started in Boston Common and walked around for a while, viewing buildings, park benches, etc. Our tour guide was funny and very personable, as he interacted with people in the group.

The highlight was ending the tour at Cheers. That's where we went in, grabbed a bite to eat and something to drink in the section modeled after the TV Show.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to On Location Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing