We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate Hospitality”
Review of Carruth House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carruth House
Ranked #29 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ultimate Hospitality”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

From the moment innkeeper Heidi greets you at the door, you feel right at home. Breakfasts are easy to access, generous, healthy, and delicious! We ate on the deck with the birds chirping in the shade trees. Heidi provides great directions, information, and highlights for getting around Boston. Nearby restaurants are quite good. Easy access to public transportation. Carruth House is a marvelous antique estate being restored as time and $$ permit. Best of all is Heidi's spirit and enthusiasm. Other guests were a delight as well, coming from the US and across the Pond.

Room Tip: Select 1st floor suite, if stairs are bothersome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickiknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
60
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed her for 5 nights towards the end of a long trip around the world and we could not ask for more. This is a beautiful old Boston house in a residential Boston neighbourhood and only 5 minutes from the Ashmont train station. The house is in the process of being renovated, but if you don't mind a few bare walls then its charm and elegance will win you over. The owner Heidi is an absolute delight and will go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a pleasant on, she also has a small cat called Ella who is very affectionate and good company. Breakfast is included and is one of the best that I have had on my travels and includes local backed goods and fruits.
All in all a fantastic place to stay that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We had a great room, with private restrooms plus living room.
Breakfast was terrific.
Heidi, the owner of the house, was very welcoming and helpful in suggestions for visiting the city and other places in Massachusets.
Her pumpkin cake was simply delicious.
The location of the house is probably not the most convenient for visiting downtown, but we would definitely go there 1,000 times. I would place our stay at Carruth House among the most interesting experiences in Boston! Indeed, Carruth House offers much more than a simply hotel: it's a dive into a real Massachussets House!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GargoyleofBelleville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

On a rainy Boston weekend we arrived to a warm, welcoming home and hostess. The place is not complete but is beautiful and charming. There is several lovely spots to sit - either to read or eat breakfast or just enjoy a cup of tea.
There is a unique, elegantly decorated dining room with a karge screen television.It is perfect if you want a comfortable place to stay while you explore the city. If you are looking to be part of the hustle and bustle of Boston this is not the place for you. The neighbourhood is quiet but it is very close to a station. The only real negative I had was anxiety over letting the host's cat out.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We really like the place. Heidi is a very charmed and welcoming person and she make us feel at home. The breakfast are delicious, there is place to park the car and the bikes and it is close of the subway. This is the perfect place when you go to Boston. The house is still on renovation, but the rooms ready are beatiful. We really like to stay there and plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chouette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Arrived after a delayed flight to a lovely welcome by Heidi and very comfortable bed for much needed sleep. Very easy to get to from the Metro (with great links to Boston centre and the airport).
Other reviews complain about the unfinished state of the house, but everything still works. We stayed on the first floor, and while the bathroom isn't completely finished it had a flushing toilet and working shower - it's not a construction site!
Heidi was so helpful and knowledgable about Boston, and very friendly. She also has a lovely cat, Ella who is gorgeous.
The house is beautiful, in a great area, and incredible value in Boston. We felt right at home. Thank you Heidi!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I would definitely stay here again! Heidi was very sweet and her cat ella was adorable. I love old victorian homes and this once was quite a beauty! The location was good, just a train away from everything. There were certain parts of the house that needed repairs, but as long as you know that ahead of time and are not stuck up about it, you can enjoy a stay in a very beautiful home. Heidi did an excellent job of giving us delicious breakfasts from local markets and was very knowledgeable of Boston. She gave us directions to everything and knew of many quirky places for us to visit. My favorite room was the sun room upstairs which is painted a nice dusty rose and has big bay windows where you could see the victorian style neighborhood. I am the type of person to prefer a comforting home over a stuffy hotel, so if that is what you are looking for then I suggest this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby33189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Howard Johnson Quincy
#3 of 3 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Plain
Taylor House Bed and Breakfast
South End
Aisling
Aisling
#6 of 39 in Boston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#8 of 39 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carruth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carruth House

Property: Carruth House
Address: 30 Beaumont St, Dorchester, Boston, MA 02124-5008
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Carruth House, built in 1877, is one of the landmark historic properties in the Ashmont section of Dorchester in Boston and overlooks one of the loveliest residential streets in the City. We are an affordable and relaxed private home guesthouse alternative to expensive and impersonal downtown accommodations. Come for a visit! We hope you enjoy Carruth House as much as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carruth House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing