We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toro

Toro
Ranked #72 of 3,185 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South End
Description: Toro is a Barcelona-style tapas restaurant located in Boston's South End. We serve traditional and modern Spanish-style small plates made with locally sourced and sustainable ingredients. Toro is owned and operated by James Beard Award-winning Chefs Ken Oringer & Jamie Bissonnette.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Highly recommend this place if you want fabulous food and an upbeat, almost party like atmosphere. Service was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave02048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    125
    45
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spain comes to Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I ate here during lunch and at dinner. Exotic cuts of meat such as tongue, face (cheek) & tripe are excellently prepared. For the less adventurous you can get typical meat too. There is a slight Asian flare to some of the dishes which I couldn't figure out if I liked or not. They did a good job replicating a true Spanish eating experience with the rich, artisanal small plates as well as the crowded, lively & noisy setting and taking forever to bring you the check (at dinner). To be even more authentic they should lose the seats by the bar at night and have everybody stand and mingle. This would also eliminate the wait to sit at the bar. A less than $10 glass of wine option would be nice too but I give them high marks for offering Sidra. Bottom line, if you like Spanish food at all then you must come here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaiTaiRoaAe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but everything is rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Toro is a simple, small, charming spot. The tapas are very good. The dates are sublime, do not overlook them. The smoked eggplant was excellent, smoky enough to bring out the egplant flavor but not so much so as to overpower it. Our corn-on-the-cob was excellent but the corn itself was very sweet, the sauce on it made the dish very rich. Also, it is a pretty big serving: four half-cobs. The small serving of paella was also quite a bit larger than expected. It had a bit more tomato flavor than I prefer but that is a personal preference. Everything we ate was superbly prepared in and of itself. Our only complaint was the menu had no options which were not very rich. We would like to have one or two more simply prepared dishes to balance the meal. Do order a Mamacita from the bar – basically, a more refreshing take on the margarita. But be careful, it is so refreshing you may drain it without noticing. We arrived just after 5:00. When seating began we were seated promptly. Our waiter was cheerful, helpful and efficient. In short, we loved the food and the room but would carefully check the menu before retuning as we'd love a more toned down vegetable or two to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
422 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Awesome, once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a perfect night to sit outside, we snagged the last table on the sidewalk. I think we did about 6 or 8 plates, each one was fabulous. Nice bottle of wine and just watching the world go by on the sidewalk. I remember the smoked aggplant being exceptional and the tuna belly tartar being a perfect bite. Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The corn and dates were incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The pork belly is also perfectly cooked...definitely try them all. We sat at the bar and had a great night with fantastic service :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mystycka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro also viewed

 

Been to Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing