We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent high end Italian”
Review of Sorellina

Sorellina
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorellina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Dartmouth
Description: Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent high end Italian”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Boston does not have enough high end eateries - a lot of wannabes but few that pull it off. Sorellina pull is off though. Outstanding location on the corner of Copley, super swanky decor, outstanding service and michelin level food. Recommend the gnocchi - a more flour based and waxy gnocchi than I am used to - excellent swimming in a truly luscious lobster bisque sauce. This is an expensive place, and for an evening to enjoy not rushed. Ideal for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    146
    54
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Song provided the best service I have encountered”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

In my many travels and in the many restaurants, Song was over and above almost all others (Mary Ann in Baltimore is still number 1, by a nose). She was very well versed in her dishes and was wonderful at helping us select wines. The food was delicious, especially the meatballs, the lamb, and the chocolate balls with sea salt. She asked us if we were celebrating anything, and we realized it was our three year anniversary of working together, but we never thought she would actually help us celebrate. She gave us dishes with happy anniversary on them and those amazing chocolate balls. She made a fun night so much more memorable.

Helpful?
2 Thank courtneymccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for Foodies”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I think we had the best waiter I have had in a long time. We eat out 4-5 times a week from breakfast dives to five star. So nice to be treated like family, and professional in all. The food was outstanding. gnocchi with Lobster (of course Boston) was GREAT.
bathrooms clean, lobby welcoming except for hostess that try to make you feel unworthy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shoeshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Salty and Expensive”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

There is a lot to like about this restaurant. The staff and servers are very friendly and professional, the atmosphere calm (soft music thank goodness), with open seating (some booths or partitions would add a lot).

The prices are high -- all entrees above $40 with one exception. The food is presented beautifully -- A plus for presentation. However there is too much salt used throughout the preparation. It's bad.

Try the chicken. Though salty it is quite flavorful. The halibut was over cooked; a bit dry. The buratta was not flavorful but the beet salad was delicious.

For the premium pricing here, one expects more. Still, if you are not price conscious, and you are medically ok with extra sodium, you can have a relatively elegant night out at Sorrelina.

Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Did not have a reservation and the place very busy on a Wednesday night, however hostess went out of her way to try and seat us. It was late and we were not that hungry so we shared a caesar salad had Meatball with pasta and a steak Followed up with the chocolate cake. All were delicious but I do think the pricing is high for what you get on the plate. Yes the decor is nice and the wine list is good, the atmosphere is okay, but I would not be chomping at the bit to come back. I know its in a neighborhood where people are willing to pay but I would definitely do some more research before I return here. I don't baulk at a price point on a menu if I think the value is there. Not sure it is here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorellina also viewed

 

Been to Sorellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing