We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place with a good show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Improv Asylum

Improv Asylum
Ranked #4 of 36 Fun & Games in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Improv Asylum is a comedy theater that features improvisation and sketch comedy. We’ve been described as Whose Line is it Anyway? meets Saturday Night Live!. Improv Asylum is located in the heart of the North End, within short walking distance from Faneuil Hall and is easily accessible via public transportation. There is a $3.00 service charge per ticket on all phone orders. Advance ticket sales are recommended. We are a smoke-free establishment with no minimum drink requirement.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place with a good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

There is a different type of show every night that has a different price for each event. We went on a Wednesday night and found the show to be funny and pretty entertaining. The crowd was asked to participate, and did, and the improv actors did well with what they were given. If you enjoy improv you should enjoy this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    53
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More improv needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had high hopes this would have been hilarious according to the great reviews on trip advisor. We really enjoy improv back home and have gone to a lot of improv acts through the years and love visiting new shows while on vacation, however this show was a disappointment. It was so bad that we were half tempted to leave during intermission, however decided to stay. There were a few funny acts, however the ones that were scripted were horrible. I'm sure the actors are great, however they need to focus more on improv. They should take a lesson from Go Comedy in Ferndale, Michigan. I never thought that Ferndale could outdo Boston in improv, however it has been done. Hopefully we visited on a bad night and the show is usually better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluefrogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Night for Family with Teens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My teenage son (17) has always been asking to go see a comedian but most shows are targeted for the over 21 crowd. while on a short trip to Boston we came across this venue that offered an Improv Show that our whole family could attend. The show was not a "kiddie" show and it wasn't a Rated R show. The actors/comedians did a great job walking the line and appealing to all of us. there were a few jokes that may have been over my 15 yr old head but for my son and older daughter it was perfect. My wife also felt it was great. Since then she is always referencing back to one of the jokes that were told that night. My wife and i have been to other shows where we laughed a little harder but for what we were looking for on this night it was just perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank XavierCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilarious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

So nice to go to a show that is different every night - audience suggestions were taken all through out the show, making it more personal and fun! Definitly wanted to go back to the Raunch show, but couldnt make it! Next time!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank melissacrawshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton,CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very talented artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the 7:30 Saturday night show this past weekend. The comedians are hysterical. Very talented and so quick with savvy improv. Highly reccommend this place for a great time. No bad seats as it's a small venue. You will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsEaston_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Improv Asylum also viewed

 

Been to Improv Asylum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing